Handmade Leather Hair Accessories and cake!

It has been a busy week of making and getting my business up and running, as well as this, it is my daughters 7th birthday tomorrow so there has been party preparations to be done. One of those preparations was making party bags and some leather hair accessories to go in them.

Collection of leather hair accessories

These are what I made, I am keeping the hair pins for myself and the headband for my daughter, the rest have been put in the party bags.

Turquoise Bows

I am loving bows at the moment, these bows are attached to barrette clips and look very cute on.

Red Bow

I am planning on making more of these bows for my market stalls in different colours and sizes.

Flower Hair band

I really love how these turned out. I got the pattern from Make It Love It  website which has some fabulous ideas for leather hair accessories.

Red Flower Hair Band

lBlue Flower Headband

My daughter loves this headband!  Another great pattern from Make It Love It website.

Roller Skate Cake

And the most important part of any party is of course the cake, and as my daughter loves roller skating and we are going roller skating for her birthday, it seemed right to make her a roller skate cake! I have to be honest here, I baked the cake, my husband iced it, although I did assist in parts.

I am looking forward to roller skating to pop music, will take me back to my youth!

About theoriginalthread

I have spent the last 20 years trying to work out what it is that I want to be when I grow up! It is a question that some people automatically know from a young age, however, for me, when I was growing up I just wanted to see the world and experience it for what it is. In some respect I did do that, I travelled on and off for 6 years, through Western Europe, Turkey, Greek Islands, America, Mexico, South America, Africa and a few Pacific Islands. Now, at 38 years old, I am starting to find what it is that I want to be and that is a designer, particularly in surface design. I love art in all different forms and mediums, it inspires me as much as nature and life does. My degree was in Multimedia Arts which I completed in 2003 and technology has moved so fast that my programming knowledge is now mostly redundant although the fundamentals is still in place. However, the design skills I learnt from my degree have progressed into designing some beautiful and unique textile designs using mainly Illustrator and vector artwork although I do occasionally use Photoshop and original artwork to create my textile designs. I have a passion for nature photography and I am a keen amateur photographer who one days hopes to take 'out of this world photo's', still working on that one! My designs are inspired by life, nature, shapes and anything with good form and movement. I can see inspiration in the most mundane objects and I love the process that goes into progressing that design into a stunning surface design. I believe good design needs to tell a story or has a story in it, you look it and it makes you think and perhaps it evokes a discussion, even better! I am still learning and I think that is important in life, I am not a perfectionist and don't ever claim to be one as I don't believe there is such a thing as perfection, because one persons idea of perfect may well not be another persons idea of perfect. I strive to create unique designs that tell a story, evoke some feelings and look beautiful. This blog documents my trials and tribulations of my journey of discovery in the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Handmade Leather Hair Accessories and cake!

  1. Lili & Mum's says:

    Very cute! I haven’t skated in a long time. You’ve made me want to now. Like the cake, too. It’s original.

    • Thanks so much! You should go skating, it’s fun! My daughter loves skating so I have been a couple of times but I’m not brave enough to venture to far from the wall!! :)

      • Lili & Mum's says:

        I used to skate a lot in elementary school, but I’m not sure how I’d do now. Maybe I’ll get the chance sometime. Have fun! :)

  2. Just found your blog, those hair accessories are super cute, they remind me of one I had when I was a little girl. :)

  3. So adorable and what a beautiful cake !!

  4. Lee says:

    Especially like the headbands. Hope skating was fun and made you feel young again! :-)

Leave a Reply

