Simple Tote Bag with Photo Transfer

A few months back I tried a new technique of photo transfer using a medium gel, I first tried it onto canvas and I was pleased with the results so thought I would try it on fabric and it came out okay. This technique does not create a perfect finish but I kind of like that, nothings perfect right!! It’s a simple technique which can easily be done by using a home printer, laser is better however I used an inkjet and it was fine.  I finally got around to using the fabric photo transfer by making a simple Tote bag.

I got this Tote bag pattern from: http://www.purlbee.com/the-twenty-minute-tote/2010/5/7/mollys-sketchbook-the-twenty-minute-tote.html

Note; it is a 20 minute Tote bag but for me it took over an hour as I decided to frame the photo with the linen fabric and made my own handles.

To see the tutorial for the photo transfer on fabric please visit: http://abeautifulmess.typepad.com/my_weblog/2011/10/how-to-transfer-a-photo-to-fabric.html

Here is a close up of the photo transfer on canvas, as you can see it’s not perfect, but I like it and its a great low cost way of producing photo canvases.

For the tutorial on photo transfer on canvas, please visit: http://abeautifulmess.typepad.com/my_weblog/2011/10/make-your-own-canvas-portrait.html

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

