Birds to Sew

A few months back I found a great tutorial to make a bird mobile so gave it a go, it’s not perfect but I like it and think it is quite effective.  The fabric I used was from my collection of vintage fabric.

It’s hard to get the balance right and it is something I think I will do again and experiment with the layout a bit more, watch this space!

Another bird project I did was design my own little Robin ornament for one of the weekly Spoonflower contests.  We had to design a hanging ornament on a 8 inch swatch. There were loads of fantastic designs, you can check them out here.  This was my entry below printed on Organic Cotton Sateen.

 I changed it slightly by making the stitching details a larger pixel size and the angel of the wing.  I got them reprinted on Linen/Cotton mix fabric which I liked better as it gave it more texture.  Here is the sewn up version (note; I used my own ribbon instead of the one on the kit).

I made these available to purchase as either an 8 inch swatch or a Fat Quarter on Linen/Cotton mix fabric.  With the Fat Quarter, you would get 8 Robins to make and have 14 little Robins that could be used for many different projects.  I recently used one of the Robins on a canvas that I made using vintage buttons and fabric, see below.

To view the Swatch or FQ Robin Ornament kit please visit my Spoonflower shop.

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Fabric Design & Illustration and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Birds to Sew

  1. Florence says:

    As soon as I saw these (top photo) I thought they balanced well. I have had difficulty getting fabric birds to balance, it’s not easy. Fabulous projects. Looooove the canvas with the birds and buttons.
    Regards Florence x

  2. Thanks Florence for the lovely comment, you are so right, it is hard to get the balance right, I am hoping to do more in the next few months and experiment with the layout a bit more.

    Regards Melanie x

  3. Alison says:

    What sweet little birds! Thanks for sharing at oopsey daisy!

  4. Thanks Alison for the lovely comment.

Leave a Reply

