Lemonade Scones

I’m back from my lovely vacation in New Zealand and I just had to share this delicious and simple scone recipe which my good friend Megan gave to me.  It is a quick, simple recipe which produces the lightest scones ever which are simply divine!

Simply add; 4 cups of self raising flour, 300 mls of cream, ¼ cup of sugar, 1 can of lemonade (I used the no sugar brand), and ½ tsp of salt, mix all together until it forms a dough, then put on a lightly floured bench/board and knead to right shape and thickness, I made mine about an inch thick.

Preheat the oven to 220°C. Cut out into circles or any shapes that you wish, I only had loveheart cookie cutters so that’s why mine look slightly different to the normal scone.

Cook for 15-20 minutes. Let them cool, then dress them how you like, cream then jam, jam then cream or just plain jam, whatever you do, you will love these scones, they really are delicious!

You can use this recipe and add to it, things like 1 cup of dried fruit, or a cup of chocolate chips for a truly yummy treat. To make savoury scones, simply change the can of lemonade to a can of soda water, then add an onion, a cup of cheese, maybe some bacon if you fancy and 3 tablespoons of parsley or fresh herbs, the choices are unlimited, depending on what takes your fancy.

Hope you enjoy using this recipe.

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Random & Interesting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

