Watercolour inspired fabric design

I decided to enter a contest that was sponsored by Spoonflower and Robert Kaufman Fabrics.  The theme of the contest was to come up with a modern fabric designs that evoke the style of pen & ink drawings colored with watercolor paints.  Well its been years since I last did any watercolour painting so I thought this would be a fun contest to take part in.  My design was loosely based upon the Hydrangea’s in my parents garden in New Zealand.

I sketched the flowers, then got my watercolours out and had fun painting them and then went over it with an art pen.  I decided to cut the flowers out and arrange them in a bouquet style, then I scanned it in for editing in Photoshop, I wanted to create a more 3D effect by doing it this way.

I mainly use Illustrator so it was a learning curve to create a seamless pattern in Photoshop as it has been almost 10 years since I last used it!  I found a really easy to understand tutorial to create a seamless pattern in Photoshop.  I tried the pattern with a light yellow background but it kind of looked light green and not quite right.  So I went with an even lighter yellow background.

This is the one I decided to enter into the contest, I like it and I will be ordering a sample soon as it would be interesting to see how the colours print on cotton, you can view my entry here.  I’m not sure I will make the cut for the final 100 designs, I think there were well over 800 entries and a lot were simply stunning, you can view some of the other entries here.   I will keep you posted if I do make the cut!

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Fabric Design & Illustration, Random & Interesting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Watercolour inspired fabric design

  1. Florence says:

    Beautiful design Melanie. Love the colours. Good luck with the contest.
    Regards Florence x

  2. Sadly I didn’t make the cut, however it has given me a renewed interest in working with water colours again, it’s all good experience.

Leave a Reply

