Teacher Thank You Gift with a Personal Touch

Last year my daughter, Maddy, was in reception and for a thank you gift to her teachers I thought it would be special to make a zippered pouch using fabric with my daughters drawings on, for a personal touch.

Maddy puts alot of thought into her drawings and she gave it the title of thinking children because each child is thinking about playing, whether it be the swings, see saw etc. I scanned this drawing in and edited in Illustrator and made it into a seamless repeat. This drawing was entered into a competition that Spoonflower had for children, sadly she didn’t make the top ten but that didn’t matter as I think it’s fantastic anyway.

I got it printed on quilting cotton in a fat quarter, and decided to make it into a simple zippered pouch. I used my sewing machine to stitch on the back the title of the fabric, who it was by and what year, as I am sure the teachers get a few gifts over the years.

I’m not sure what we will come up with this year, I should start thinking about it soon, especially if Maddy wants her drawing to be on fabric again.

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Fabric Design & Illustration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Teacher Thank You Gift with a Personal Touch

  1. Fabulous idea! I may try it out myself.

  2. Florence says:

    What a super gift!!! Fantastic drawing – Well done Maddy 🙂
    Regards Florence x

  3. What a sweet idea!!! (I’m a teacher, so extra points from me! :))

  4. Glad you like and especially since you are a teacher! Not sure what we are going to do this year, any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

