A Mish Mash of Makes

The last week I have taken to trying a few different crafts, although I should really get on with my day job of bookeeping, however doing crafts is so much more interesting!!  I tried my hand at some basic jewellery making, a lovely friend showed me the ropes, she had so many beads to choose from it was overwhelming!

I made a lovely bracelet for myself, a bookmark for my daughter and a bag charm for my son, they loved their gifts!

I finally got a chance to sew my little New Zealand themed cushion, it is my own design which I got printed from Spoonflower.  It is a simple zip at the bottom style cushion, very easy to make.

This is the reverse of my New Zealand cushion. I still have a UK and USA one to get done, which I hope to do very soon.

I wanted to make some felt hearts for a friend so I got out the red wool and needle felted it into shape. For the large heart, I did use a cookie cutter to get the shape right, but the smaller heart I just moulded into shape and then needle felted it. I do enjoy needle felting so I think I will experiment with colours and shapes more.

And finally, this scented loveheart was made a little while ago but I thought I would share it with you as it makes me smile!

I am hoping my fabric design samples come in next week, I have made a fabric design from my 4 year old painting and have ordered a silk fat quarter so hoping it prints nicely, the colours look great on screen.

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Mish Mash of Makes

  1. Lee says:

    Hey Mel, the jewellery looks fab! Love the clips 🙂 May I put in my order for the ‘Aotearoa’ cushion? x

    • Hey Lee, thanks for the lovely comments, have to admit the clips were made by my friend Beccy. Sure I can make you an Aotearoa cushion, might do a collection, keep you posted.

  2. Love the New Zealand cushion! Very cute.

  3. Thanks so much for your lovely comment, thanks for stopping by. Hoping to have a collection of mini cushions sometime soon, still got to sew up the UK and USA ones.

Leave a Reply

