Personalised Bunting

I thought I would give making bunting a go, it is quite a nice way to add colour to a wall and great way to personalise a bedroom.

I drew a triangle with the measurements of 18.5 cm (7.5 inches) along the bottom, 26 cm (10.5 inches) along each side, and 24 cm (9.5 inches) inside from the top of the triangle to the base.  I used cardboard for the template, see below.  I then cut out 10 triangles of coordinating fabric because I decided to make 5 double-sided flags.

I decided to personalise my bunting with my daughter’s name, and no, her name is not ‘addy’ as per the photo below, I had already started sewing the ‘M’ on the flag before I remembered to take a photo!

For the lettering, I printed it off and then simply drew the letter onto fabric and then cut out.

Note; if you don’t have a chalk/fabric pencil to use to draw the letter onto fabric, you may want to draw on the wrong side of the fabric so the pen/pencil doesn’t show, if this is the case, remember to turn the letters back to front.

The next step is to sew the letters on each bunting flag.  I used a zigzag stitch which was close and small.  This is the part that took the longest as it was time-consuming following the curves of the letters, however the end result was worth it.

I think the next time I do this, I will put iron on fusible web to make the letters sit better on the fabric.

The next step is to sew the long sides of the bunting flags (right sides facing), leaving the base open for turning and attaching the binding too.  I did a small seam of about 5mm (¼ inch), I didn’t want too much bulk when I turned it through.

Once the long sides of the bunting flags have been sewn, cut the corners so there will not be so much bulk when pulling the fabric through. If your side seams are wide, it may pay to trim this too, just to get rid of any bulk material.

Turn the fabric through, making sure to get the point of the bunting flag as much as possible, I used a pencil to do this. Once it is all pulled through, I ironed it with the card template inside so that it got a good shape.

Now for the final bit, adding the binding to the bunting flags.  The binding I used was 2.5 cm (1 inch) wide, and I used about 1.5 metres (60 inches).  I folded the binding in half, ironed it, then left approximately 10 cm (4 inches) either side of the first and last flag to make a loop for hanging.  I pinned the bunting flag between the folded binding, my flags were approximately 4 cm (2.5 inches) apart, however you can arrange them how you wish.   The final step is to sew the binding onto the flags and then make a loop with each end and sew a few stitches to keep it in place.

I am really pleased with how this has turned out, it brightens up my daughter’s room, she loved it!

Now to make some bunting for Jubilee weekend!

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Personalised Bunting

  1. Thanks so much for the lovely comment and stopping by : )

  2. Meeha says:

    Very, very sweet bunting! I love the little polka dots ❤ Thank you for leaving a comment on my handmade notebook 🙂

Leave a Reply

