Jubilee Celebrations

Well it’s all red, white and blue here in the UK with lots of street parties and celebrations for the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee.  I decided to get involved and entered into our village’s craft and produce competition which was held today to coincide with the Jubilee Street Party in the village.

Alex and Maddy being my models!

I decided to enter into the bunting competition, having only last week mastered the technique of making bunting, although I have to say this time it took a bit longer as I did several layers to add texture and colour.

I also entered cheese scones into the baking section.  I was a bit concerned as I had tried several recipes and none of them really turned out great.  This morning I thought I would give my lemonade scone recipe a go even though the original recipe stated soda water, I stuck with lemonade as I wanted them to be quite light.  However, when I came to put all the ingredients together this morning, I realised I didn’t have enough flour so substituted 2 cups for self raising…..and raise they did, some were well over an inch high!

I was glad I added my own twist to the original recipe as the scones came out light and very tasty, and I came first which I was very pleased with and somewhat surprised! I have to say I don’t want to eat another cheese scone for a long while!

Another surprise was my first place with my bunting, I was very happy with that result, it has encouraged me to start making more things and start up a business which I do hope to do later this year.

My daughter, Maddy, got a second for her Olympic medal in her class section and a third for her paper flag in her age section, she was very happy and of course I was very proud of her! All in all, it was a lovely street party in our village despite the on and off rain that we experienced, wouldn’t be an English summer without rain!!

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Random & Interesting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

