Vintage Clutch Purse

I have been itching to try making a clutch purse for a while now and when a free frame came with a magazine I subscribe to, I had no reason but to give it a go! Initially I had been put off making one as it seemed difficult to make however the reality is that it isn’t too difficult and what’s more, it is kind of addictive! I have already ordered more purse frames in different sizes, and I can’t wait to get started on them.

I used this tutorial from u-handbag, it is a fantastic tutorial and very easy to follow.

I used my vintage “Blackthorn” fabric by Samuel Morris for Sanderson.  I really like the flow of this fabric and I felt the pattern suited the size of the purse.  The lining is just plain white linen for a nice crisp finish.

My daughter has already picked out the fabric she wants me to make her purse out of and I have some beautiful vintage fabric that will look lovely as clutch purse so I think I am going to be kept busy!

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vintage Clutch Purse

  1. This is tooooo cute! What a great juxtaposition of the vintage fabic with the silver frame. Love it!

  2. Christine says:

    I would love to buy one of your fabric purses. Are they for sale? I am in Ireland

Leave a Reply

