Teacher Thank You gift – Reversible Tote Bag

It’s that time of year again where I am madly trying to make some gifts for my children’s teachers, I like to make rather than buy. This concept of giving thank you gifts is new to me, I am sure they don’t do it in New Zealand, I know they never did it when I went to school many moons ago! However I am embracing it and this year have decided to make a reversible Tote bag for my son’s preschool teacher as sadly this is his last time at preschool, he will be starting big school in September. It is also sad as his preschool is closing so I wanted to make something quite personal and special.

I decided to make an applique design of a block building of a rocket ship, my son is slightly obsessed with building rocket ships with blocks, there isn’t a day that goes by without a rocket ship being made! My son took a lot of pride in building the rocket ship with blocks for my design, I simply copied his layout of the blocks and sewed them onto the canvas bag using a black embroidery thread.  The fabrics I used are my own design, you can find them in my Spoonflower shop.

Close up of the applique rocket ship, I used temporary glue spray to keep the fabric in place before sewing.

This is the reverse of the rocket ship reversible tote bag. The fabric I used is from my ditsy floral design from my Spoonflower shop.

The tutorial for this reversible tote bag can be found here.  I found the tutorial easy to follow and it was really quite a simple bag to make.  I do hope that my son’s teacher likes it, at least if she doesn’t fancy the cute rocket ship design, she can turn it inside out to have a nice summery floral bag.  You can never have enough bags, right?

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

