Original Coin Purses

Last week was the last week of term and I thought it would be a lovely idea to make some coin purses for my childrens teachers as a token to thanks as they do such a fantastic job.

All the purses were made with my own fabric designs from my Spoonflower shop, some were lined with my own fabric designs and some were lined with a fine white linen fabric.

One of my favourite fabric designs, the cupcake collection. This was made using 4 different coordinating fabrics as I only had 8 inch samples, however I quite like the mix of fabrics.

Inside lining with my logo, all the fabric for this purse is organic cotton sateen.

This fabric was created by an original watercolour flowers that I painted then rearranged, scanned, and then put into photoshop to make a seamless repeat. This photo was taken at night and used a flash so the background of the fabric is white in this photo however in natural daylight it is an offwhite/light cream colour.

Retro kitchenalia fabric was used for this coin purse.

Autumn leaves and apples is part of my autumn collection.  I am thinking of updating this collection over the next few weeks.

The lining is another coordinating fabric for the autumn collection.

Ditsy flowers in blue background, part of my ditsy flowers collection.

Purse lined with ditsy flowers in yellow background.

This coin purse uses fabric created from a painting my 4 year old son made for me for Mother’s Day. It was given to his key worker teacher, I thought it was a special reminder of my son. However, I now want one for myself so I will be reordering some more fabric.

All these purses were based upon a great tutorial from u-handbag.  Once you make a few of these purses, they become quite addictive, I have already ordered more purse frames and will be ordering more of my fabric as I want some for myself!

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Fabric Design & Illustration and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Original Coin Purses

  1. I love coin purses. Yours are way cute.

  2. Lee says:

    They are truly gorgeous – I would feel very special with one of those 🙂

  3. You have been a busy bee – very cute. I think my favourite is the Autumn leaves pattern 🙂

  4. These are terrific!! Adorable.

Leave a Reply

