Been a while ….

I can’t believe nearly a month has passed since I last wrote anything on the blog, sorry for neglecting this blog, moving was more exhausting, time consuming and stressful than I had anticipated!!  However, I am loving my new home, I still have a few boxes to unpack and rooms to rearrange but we are slowly getting there.

I wanted to write about a wonderful day that I had last week, one where I felt truly humbled, a day which was the final chapter of something special that first started about this time last year.   A good friend of mine, Nicky, who had recently recovered from Breast Cancer decided to participate in the London Moon Walk (Walk the Walk – a fundraiser marathon walk for Breast Cancer), she asked if I would like to join their group called ‘The Marathon Mummies’.  I thought this was a fabulous opportunity to raise money for a charity, get fit and meet new friends.

Marathon Mummies; Me, Jo S, Jo J, Nicky, Deb, Nicole and Helen

However, instead of the usual asking people for donations, Nicky came up with a great idea to have a Charity Ball as a fun way to fundraise for Walk the Walk and Cancer Research UK.  The ball was held on the 28th April and was a huge success, far bigger success than any of us had anticipated.

We raised a fantastic £21,000 which was split between Walk the Walk (Breast Cancer Charity) and Cancer Research UK.  We donated £11,000 to Walk the Walk and £10,000 to Cancer Research UK.

At the end of the marathon walk, London Hyde Park.

Now this brings me back to my wonderful day last week when we presented Cancer Research UK with the £10,000 cheque.

We were all invited to Cancer Research UK in Cambridge for a special presentation and a show around the research centre, unfortunately one of our Marathon Mummies, Helen, could not make it which was a shame.   It was fascinating to get a better understanding of Cancer, the presentation was so informative and interesting, I learnt so much.  The tour around the research centre was also very informative, and I was amazed at the level of progress in technology that has happened over the last 3-5 years, which is sure to benefit future generations.

We were all deeply humbled by our visit, to see first hand what fantastic work these very clever scientist and researchers are doing, and to know that we were able to help them in this process with our donation.  This visit has certainly inspired me to do more fundraising in the future for Cancer Research, everybody knows someone who has had cancer, it touches so many peoples lives.

 

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Random & Interesting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

