New Year – New Challenges

Again, it has been a little while since I last posted, Christmas has been and gone, ate too much as per usual, and now the start of a new year which is the first anniversary of this blog.  I am finding it hard to believe a year has past already and I kind of feel that I did not achieve all that I set out to achieve at the start of 2012. This blog is for documenting my journey of discovery of arts, crafts and everything in between as well as starting a new business, that is the bit I feel I did not achieve to the extent I had set out. However, having said that, it is a new year set with new challenges and goals, and my main one is to concentrate on creating and building my own business!

I have started that ball rolling by putting my name down to share a stall at the Milton Keynes Handmade and Vintage fair which will be the first weekend in March so I am desperately sewing and making as much as possible. In all honestly, I am both nervous and excited about selling my work, I put a lot of love, time and attention into everything I do, I just hope that comes across when I am selling the items.

Coin Purses

Lining of Ditsy Flower Coin Purse

I am planning on selling coin purses, small clutches and cushions using my own original fabric designs, and hair accessories using some beautiful soft Italian leather.

Red Leather Flower Hair Clip

Teal Leather Flower Hair Clip

I also have a stash of lovely vintage fabrics which I would like to create into new pieces of works.  I have many ideas but time is always something I never seem to have enough of!

SandersonFabric2-001

Here are two examples of the lovely vintage fabrics I have from Sandersons and Warners, any suggestions of what I could create with these?  Part of me is a bit scared to cut into them as I like them so much but another part of me wants to see a lovely item made with these fabrics as they are just sitting on the shelf.  Any comments most welcome.
Warner Fabric

I have also opened an Etsy shop which I hope to start listing products for sale by the end of this month, and then I will have to eventually update my facebook page, something I started over a year ago and have not progressed. 2013 is going to be a year of many challenges, changes, experiences, excitment and, a journey of discovery into unchartered territory, I am looking forward to experiencing it all.

2013 Cushion

I will seek comfort in my cushion when I need that little pep talk!!

I wish you all the very best for 2013.

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Year – New Challenges

  1. gonerustic says:

    Love your purses, and the vintage fabric is beautiful! =D

  2. Thank you so much for the lovely comment : )

  3. omg, those vintage fabrics are awesome, I love the second one, its so Monet! I’m with you, its gotta be hard to cut them up, but you could totally use them to decoupage a bigger size table top 🙂

    • Thanks so much for your comments. I would love to hear how to decoupage the fabric as I attempted this last year with very disappointing results, it was totally experimental so I may not have used the right glue/technique? Nice to get different ideas, thank you, I am still too scared to cut it, I need to take the plunge! 🙂

Leave a Reply

