Winter is Here

Winter is truly upon us now, it has been pretty mild up until the past week or so when the temperatures have plummetted. However cold it is, there is great beauty to be seen, as I found out this morning.

Winter 2013

I had such a fun morning walking around the countryside of my village with a good friend. We are both new comers to the world of photography so it was pure experimentation which we both enjoyed!

Winter 2013

I loved the ice on these plants and has inspired me to create some new fabric designs.

Winter 2013

Winter 2013

Sometimes we don’t realise that beauty is right on our doorsteps.

Winter 2013

Winter 2013

And when I say doorstep, I mean it literally with the image below!

Winter 2013

I’m eager to start creating some new designs having been inspired by these images, I can visualise them already.

Winter 2013

However, I have a small matter of making enough stock for the market stall in March so I must get back to sewing. Nice to have a break and step outside and have fun exploring and developing my photographic skills. Sometimes taking breaks is just what one needs!

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Random & Interesting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Winter is Here

  1. roo365 says:

    These are really good! Love it when it gets frosty/snowy. We’re meant to get snow overnight, am quite excited! 🙂

    • Thank you so much for the great comment. It is truly beautiful when it is frosty/snowy not so when its sludgy!! We are expecting snow tomorrow so may venture out again with the camera!

      • roo365 says:

        You’re welcome. I’ll be sure to keep a look out for what else you do along the way with your photos. Let’s hope we both get snow! 🙂

  2. Rose says:

    they are beautiful

  3. Lee says:

    Love your pics Mel, looking forward to seeing what designs they have inspired 🙂

  4. mlwilkie says:

    I really like the 2nd and last photo – very cool.

  5. Thank you, they are that ones that I think would look fab as a fabric design 🙂

Leave a Reply

