Purses and Lampshades

I’ve been busy sewing lately, good thing its been cold as I have had plenty to do indoors!

Coin Purses

This selection of coin purses are all my own fabric designs, they have been printed on three types of fabric, cotton poplin, organic cotton sateen and linen/cotton mix.  Most of them are either the poplin or sateen, the sateen has a slight sheen to it.

Mid Century Abstract Rose - Orange tones

This is a mid century inspired abstract rose design in orange tones, the fabric can be seen in different yardage here.  The fabric for this purse is organic cotton sateen.

Cupcake icing tops - blue

This is a new colourway for the my cupcake collection, this fabric can also be seen in different fabric yardage and also as wallpaper and wall decals, to view, click here.  This purse fabric is cotton poplin.

Cupcake Icing tops - lining

Kakapos

I have just learnt how to make lampshades and I have to admit, it isn’t too hard, the hardest part is making sure you get the fabric straight on the adhesive paper. It is really fun to do and the best part is that I now have some of my own designs in my new home, which makes it more homely and special. This lampshade uses my Kakapo’s fabric which is printed on linen/cotton and is a 20 cm drum lampshade.

Aotearoa collection Lampshade

I used my Aotearoa collection fabric which is printed on linen/cotton for this 30 cm drum lampshade. It works perfectly with my latest mid century purchase lamp base.

I am hoping to have some these products in my Etsy store in the next week, I am still in the process of designing business cards and making more products.  My woven labels arrived today so I now can get cracking on making some cushions with my logo proudly on display!

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Fabric Design & Illustration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Purses and Lampshades

  1. I just love them all!!! 🙂

  2. mlwilkie says:

    Great ideas and ingenuity! I love the kiwiana pieces, makes me miss home 🙂

    • Thanks so much for the lovely comments! I have to keep some of my roots in my designs, I really want to do a collection highlighting endangered birds/species particularly in NZ, time seems to be the biggest hurdle at the moment. Nice to meet another kiwi in cyberspace 🙂

      • mlwilkie says:

        I think its a great touch the endangered birds/species. NZ have many unfortunately. I checked out your spoonflower site – as soon as I get some of my current projects finished I think I will have to pick up some of yours 🙂

      • Thanks, that’s so lovely. I know what you mean about current projects, I have such a long list, always lots of ideas and never enough time 🙂

  3. So charming and beautiful !!

  4. They are so beautiful. I’m learning to sew and can’t wait to try to make purses like yours.

    • Thank you for the lovely comment. I haven’t sewn for nearly 20 years so it is a bit of a learning curve for me at times but I love seeing the end result. Good luck with your sewing, look forward to seeing what you make 🙂

  5. Micha says:

    Adorable fabrics!

Leave a Reply

