A Design Evolving

I have been wanting to post about the process of my designs, how they evolve, what inspires me, the story behind the design, something you don’t always get the opportunity to find out when buying a product, and personally I think it is nice to know.

This weeks design is inspired by love and includes two cute sayings my 4 year old has said recently that I just had to add to the design!

pen sketch

All my designs start off by a simple pen sketch, I had this idea in my head for a few weeks.

tablet

I then take the pen sketch and draw it using my wacom intuos, a lovely Christmas present which I haven’t used as much as I would like too.

Illustrator Design 1

The drawing from tablet goes straight to Illustrator where I begin to edit and develop the design. I only sketch the key elements of the design as there is no reason to draw all elements when it can be cut and pasted. This is the case for this design, other designs may require to draw all elements if there are changes to each element.

Tidying Up sketch

As you can see by the close up of this image, there is a fair amount of tidying up to do after sketching the elements into Illustrator.

Colour Chart

Now to think about colours. I use the Spoonflower colour map as a guide to how the colours will print out on cotton. For this design I am looking at red/pinks/blues.

Adding Colour

Starting to add colour.

Adding background colour

Adding a background colour, I wanted to use pink as I liked the contrast.

Stripey Background

I used the original hand-drawn lines and overlap them to create a tight stripe which I made into a pattern repeat to add to a design element, as you can see in the love hearts in the next image.

Design screen 4

Here the design is developing but I don’t feel like is going the way I would like.

Design Screen 5

This is when I start playing around with layout and the design elements to get it more balanced and the look I am trying to achieve.

Design Screen 6

I tend to do several versions of designs.

Design Screen 7

Sometimes designs come together quicker than others.

Design Screen 8

And other times you have to just keep working at it.

Love Letters16

Until you are totally happy with it. This is the final design and I really like it, maybe I like it even more because it represents my son and his sweet sayings.

Bubble Love Close Up

I have enjoyed documenting this design process for my love inspired design. It has shown me how my design evolved, sometimes I am just so wrapped up in a design I don’t realise that I have made about 15 designs to get to the final one. It can be a time consuming and frustrating time but most of the time I thorougly enjoy the whole process, and it is great when I can develop it into a tangible product.

I hope to develop coordinating fabric to go with the love inspired design and have it up for sale in the near future.

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Fabric Design & Illustration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Design Evolving

  1. I love this post!!! So inspiring!

Leave a Reply

