Make-Up Bag Tutorials

I am still busy making and I decided some make-up/bathroom bags would be a good idea to add to my market stall. I’ve made small bags before but what I wanted to make was a boxy style bag which I have never made before. This is where the likes of Pinterest is such a fantastic resource, I have many tutorials on my boards that I have collected and still many more to collect. I found two fantastic tutorials on how to make boxy make-up bags.

Kakapo Boxy Mini Make-Up bag

Kakapo fabric printed on Linen/Cotton

I made this mini boxy make-up bag with the first tutorial from Say Yes to Hoboken website, it was an easy tutorial and on the outside looks fantastic, however on the inside it is a different story.

Kakapo Make-up bag inside

As you can see from the photo above, it has exposed seams, something I do not like, I like it to be as neat as possible.

I sat for quite a few hours trying to figure it out, and I started a sample but then got stuck at the last step, that’s when I went back online to find another tutorial that had no exposed seams.  This tutorial from So Chick Handbags & Embroidery Blog is just the answer, it has really clear instructions and great pictures so was easy to follow and since I had already got so far with my sample, it was only the last bit I needed help with.

Sample Mini Boxy Make-Up bags no exposed seams

This is a mini version compared to the tutorial, only for the fact that the zips I had were really small and it was just a sample to try out the tutorial so wasn’t too bothered about the size, more about the look inside.

Mini Boxy Sample inside

It was hard to get a good photo of the inside, but I have to say it worked out beautifully and is a much neater finish. It does take longer to make and it can be a bit fiddly when doing the box seams but once you have done one, it get’s faster each time.

I went out and bought some larger zips this morning and made a bigger boxy make-up/bathroom bag this afternoon using some vintage fabric from my stash.

Vintage Fabric Boxy bathroom bag

Vintage Fabric Boxy bathroom bag

The inside of this bag is finished how I like it with no exposed seams.

Vintage Fabric Boxy bathroom bag

This bag has turned out fairly big so would suit the use as a bathroom bag more than a make-up bag unless you own a lot of make-up, something I have to admit that I don’t, I would only need my mini pink sample boxy make-up bag for the amount of make-up I own!

Vintage Fabric Boxy bathroom bag

I really like this style of bag although I think I like them smaller so I will be adjusting the pattern to make it more of the shape of the Kakapo fabric make-up bag as I do like that shape and size.

For now, I must get back to making.

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Make-Up Bag Tutorials

  1. eclecticlamb says:

    I have wanted to make this type of bag for a long time. Thank you for sharing your experience and tutorial links.

  2. They are great, I’m with you on the exposed seams. What a difference it makes to have it all finished off nicely. Just beautiful.

Leave a Reply

