Reflecting on my first Handmade Craft Fair

Well my first handmade and vintage fair is now behind me and I can reflect on the experience as a positive one, maybe not as financially rewarding as I had hoped but still I made some money but more importantly I learnt a lot from the experience.

stall

I shared the stall with a good friend of mine who was selling lovely vintage china and natural soap, it was nice to share a stall and have a friend to chat to when things were a little quiet.

Stall 2

I found setting up more difficult than I envisioned and I recommend practising this a few times at home before the event to get the layout balanced, I don’t think mine is as balanced as I would have liked but I do like the mix of colours that is showing. Before the event I was worried I did not have enough stock but I am amazed at how much I have made over the past two months and I actually had the right amount.

sign

Two nights before the fair I realised I did not have a sign or banner for my stall, I had business cards, stickers and post cards but no sign! So I ended up sewing this sign (above) into the small hours of Friday morning, think I finished it at 1.30am!

The biggest thing I learnt from this experience would be that you have to really get your products to the right target market. With this particular fair, it is hard to judge the target audience as it is in a big shopping mall with a wide variety of shoppers. I found Saturday was a great day for me, I sold much more on Saturday than Sunday so I guess it is hard to judge whether this is a good market place for me as it is a bit unpredictable. It is early days for me and there are many different selling avenues to go down and explore, I have only just launched my online boutique shop www.theoriginalthread.com, which at this moment has only a few products up, I will be adding more in the next few days.

miniatures

The above picture was taken from the stall next to our one, Caroline Stafford Miniatures, she makes all her miniatures by hand, such detail and such amazing skill. For more details about her work please visit her website www.carolinestaffordminiatures.com, she is very talented, I would not have the patience to do such fine detail like she does.

There were some fantastic stalls and I enjoyed the whole experience although my legs are not used to standing up for such long periods, 11 hours the first day and 7 hours in the second day, I came home pretty tired.

coin purses

I am pleased I did a craft stall, I have a huge appreciation for those people who do them regularly, it is not easy work, but it is rewarding especially when you sell your handmade work to someone who really appreciates it and tells you that it is a special gift, that really makes me happy.

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Random & Interesting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Reflecting on my first Handmade Craft Fair

  1. craftynail says:

    Those little change purses are so cute! And I like your name The Original Thread!

  2. Thank you so much for the lovely comments, much appreciated. 🙂

  3. Stacy says:

    I wish you much success in your endeavors. I am a newly published novelist and am trying to figure out the business end of writing – very difficult for a right-brainer!

    Your crafts are beautiful! ❤

  4. Jo says:

    I have only done one craft fair, but chatting to the experienced stall holders found they all agreed that Saturday was a better day for sales, and Sundays attracted people looking for a day out, not necessarily spending! Your stall looks beautiful, I can see why people wanted to come and take a closer look. 🙂

    • Thanks Jo for the kind comments and quite interesting what other more experienced stall holders were saying, it did feel like that. Good experience for me though, learnt from it, and thats what life is all about! 🙂

  5. Elizabeth - Lili & Mum's says:

    I am so happy it went well for you! Your booth looked very inviting.

  6. painterswife says:

    It looks great – but it really is hard work – I always take one of those foldable chairs, then if you are doing the stall with a friend you can take turns in sitting down without making the stall look unattended. Love the purses.

    • Thanks for the lovely comment. We didn’t have a lot of room to move as the stalls where quite close back to back but did improvise with a large hamper to rest on every now and then!

  7. Congratulations!It is such a good idea to share a stall – for many reasons. I am going to invite my friend and do the same. Glad to read your post as I have been reading only very bitter opinions about fairs.

  8. All the best with your craft fair. Thanks for stopping by and reading my blog. 🙂

  9. Lovely little purses. Did you design the patterns?

Leave a Reply

