Inspiration – Where do you get yours?

It has been a week since I had last wrote, I spent a lot of last week reflecting on the craft fair, it has been a turning point for me and I am moving in the direction I am very happy to go in.

I have decided to focus more on designing, my true passion, and build up some great collections that compliment each other and build on my brand. For this, I am seeking inspiration, I think I have one of those random brains, I come up with such a variety of ideas, I need to hone in on them to link them all together.

InspirationBoard

As you can see from my inspiration board in my workroom, I have quite a selection of images and you might just notice a theme arising from my selection – birds!  I also have a Pinterest Inspiration board, please feel free to check it out, it has some great inspiring links.

Pattern Inspiration

I get my inspiration from every day objects, like this very cool 1950’s tea-pot lid. I really like the simplicity of the pattern, I can see how this type of pattern could look fantastic as a textile design with my own interpretation.

cute drawing

This drawing was done by very clever daughter who is 7 years old. I love it, maybe I am biased but I can see the potential of developing this simplistic drawing into a really cute textile design. I am currently working on this one at the moment as my daughter wants some cushions made from her drawing. Children are such inspiration with what they say, what they do and what they create. I learn and enjoy so much from them.

Where do you get your inspiration?  Do you have a Pinterest board that is inspiring? Feel free to comment/link in, it would be great to hear where others get their inspiration from.

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Fabric Design & Illustration, Random & Interesting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Inspiration – Where do you get yours?

  1. mlwilkie says:

    I am now following your pinterest board too…I am inspired at the moment from tiles and tapa cloths. I have all kinds of ideas at the moment for quilt blocks 🙂

  2. I think the drawing is great too – I can see it on textiles, or as an appliqué on a pillow, even.

Leave a Reply

