Easy to Sew Tutorials

I thought I would start the week off to showcase some easy to sew tutorials that I have found from the fabulous Skip to my Lou website. The following tutorials I am highlighting are ones that I have used and can honestly say they are all easy to understand and follow. I only properly got back into sewing over two years ago and these are some of the tutorials I used to get back in to the swing of things.

Cupcake Pleated Pouch

I made this cute pleated pouch over a year ago with my cupcake collection fabric. I used this pleated pouch tutorial, which I found to be very easy to understand and follow.

Inside Cupcake pleated pouch with logo

Thinking Children Pouch

I used the zippered pouch tutorial to make this Thank You gift for my daughters teachers. The fabric was designed using her own drawings which she named; ‘Thinking Children’.

Back of Pouch

This is the back view of the zippered pouch. Even I am shocked to see I did this almost two years ago, where has time gone!

Reversible Tote Bag

This is a reversible tote bag which I made for my son’s preschool teacher last year. I added the rocket ship as a reminder of my son as he was and still is mad on rockets!

Reversible Tote Bag

The other side of the Tote bag uses my ditsy spring flowers fabric collection which also comes in baby blue and peach.

Another tutorial which I did nearly two years ago was for some luggage tags, unfortunately I do not have any photos of them as I gave them to my parents who were embarking on a trip to England via America from New Zealand.

It is a great tutorial for luggage tags and a great idea as it makes your luggage instantly recognisable. The ones I made for my parents I used some vintage Sanderson fabric so I would be very surprised if many people would have that type of luggage tag.

Here is a list of the tutorials mentioned above:

pleated pouch tutorial

zippered pouch tutorial

reversible tote bag

tutorial for luggage tags

I do hope this inspires you to try some of these great tutorials out.  I highly recommend them.

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Easy to Sew Tutorials

  1. Micha says:

    The cupcake pleated pouch is adorable! I love the pattern and colors…

Leave a Reply

