Easter Spring Time Designs

Well it is now officially Spring here in the Northern Hemisphere and what better time to create a bright, bold collection of designs with lots of spring inspired colours.

I so need to have some bright colours, the UK winter has been grey, very dull and long!  I am feeling optimistic that Spring is on its way, although deep down I know we are expecting snow this weekend! This collection was based around a current competition that Spoonflower is having this week to design a painted egg fabric design for an 8″ swatch size.

EasterSpringTimeEggs

This is my entry (above) to the competition, it is inpsired by the 1950’s tea pot lid I featured in my post about inspiration and the colours were inspired by my spring inspiration pinterest board.  There are well over 250 entries in the competition, lots of very talented designers out there so I very much doubt I will be in the top 50 but it is fun designing for competitions like this as it stretches my creativity and I end up making several designs to make a collection.

Spring Mosaics print

Really love this mosaic design with these bold colours.

Spring Mosaics Print Blue

Below was my original painted egg design I was going to enter but I felt it wasn’t strong enough but still liked it for the collection.

EasterSpringTimeCrackedBlue

I like the simplicity of this design.

EasterSpringTimeDuckEggBlue

You can check out these designs in different fabric lengths, wallpaper or wall decals when you click on the image of the design.  I am yet to proof these so they will not be up for sale until mid April approximately.

What are you favourite spring time colours, what inspires you?

 

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Fabric Design & Illustration and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Easter Spring Time Designs

  1. mlwilkie says:

    I like all of your pieces. The one submitted to spoonflower is a lot of fun. I think my two favorite are the last two though. I like the simplicity of the designs. Great job !!

    I am thinking of picking up your aotearoa 2013 print. I love that print.

    • Thank you for your lovely comments, I am looking forward to seeing how the colours print on cotton, hoping they retain the brightness. I have a particular fondness for my Aotearoa print, I have cushions made from it that sit proudly on my sofa! Got to have a bit of home with me! 🙂

  2. I like all, my favorite is the first one 🙂

Leave a Reply

