My Personal Statement

I am currently working on my online portfolio website, something I haven’t done for many years so I have found myself taking a trip down memory lane and reflecting a lot lately, questioning myself on the direction I am taking, and embracing the new challenges that lay ahead. Here is my personal statement.

I have spent the last 20 years trying to work out what it is that I want to be when I grow up! It is a question that some people automatically know from a young age, however, for me, when I was growing up I just wanted to see the world and experience it for what it is. In some respect I did do that, I travelled on and off for 6 years, through Western Europe, Turkey, Greek Islands, America, Mexico, South America, Africa and a few Pacific Islands.

LaPelossaBeach_aug07

La Pelossa Beach Sardinia

Now, at 38 years old, I am starting to find what it is that I want to be and that is a designer, particularly in surface design. I love art in all different forms and mediums, it inspires me as much as nature and life does. My degree was in Multimedia Arts which I completed in 2003, technology has moved so fast that my programming knowledge is now mostly redundant although the fundamentals is still in place. However, the design skills I learnt from my degree have progressed into designing some beautiful and unique textile designs using mainly Illustrator with vector artwork although I do occasionally use Photoshop and original paintings/photography to create my textile designs.

Sardinia

Sardinia

I have a passion for nature photography and I am a keen amateur photographer who one days hopes to take ‘out of this world photo’s’, still working on that one!

RSPB

My designs are inspired by life, nature, shapes and anything with good form and movement. I can see inspiration in the most mundane objects and I love the process that goes into progressing that design into a stunning surface design.

Matisse Inspired Cushion

I believe good design needs to tell a story or has a story in it, you look at it and it makes you think and perhaps it evokes a discussion, even better!

I am still learning and I think that is important in life, I am not a perfectionist and don’t ever claim to be one as I don’t believe there is such a thing as perfection, because one persons idea of perfect may well not be another persons idea of perfect. I strive to create unique designs that tell a story, evoke some feelings and look beautiful.

I would love to hear your comments about what good design means to you, is it form over function or function over form?  Does it tell it story, or evoke thoughts/emotions?

 

 

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Fabric Design & Illustration, Random & Interesting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Personal Statement

  1. mlwilkie says:

    Thank you so much for supporting my blog – I enjoy your blog so much I am nominating your blog for a Liebster Award. Check out the rules and the questions here: http://factotum-of-arts.com/2013/03/29/liebster-award/

Leave a Reply

