Who Needs a Hug?

School holidays always means things get quieter for me in terms of not as much time for creating and designing, and these holidays are no exception, plus I have been under the weather with the usual change of season cold so my energy levels haven’t been as high as I would like!

A few weeks back I blogged about inspiration and in particular a drawing my daughter did of her soft toy cheetah called Kyla.  As I was feeling poorly, I created this illustration to cheer me up!
KylaNeedaHug

I do want to make a repeating fabric design using this illustration but so far my creativity has failed to produce anything worthwhile.

kylaCheetahwip-001

I find that taking a step back and working on something else usually helps when I get a block.

Therefore I decided I would have a go at lino block printing, something I have very little experience of but something I have wanted to do for quite some time.

I did my first try this afternoon of my new logo which looks like this in graphic form:

LogoWatermarkForAllImages

and this in lino print form;

photo (74)

I know, it’s not great so won’t be using lino printing for branding purposes!

However, it was so much fun doing it and I have a bunch of sketches which would lend themselves well to this medium so I hope to have some time in these school holidays to have a play with it a bit more.

It is nice to take a break from designing on the computer, it is quite refreshing and may help me with the design block I have with the illustration.  I am totally open to any suggestions, please do leave a comment.  Sometimes brainstorming by oneself is hardwork!

 

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Fabric Design & Illustration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

