Vintage Finds

I have a love for vintage and in particular mid century furniture and design.  The structure and shape of the furniture is what really grabs me.  A few months back, I bought some mid century Benchairs that needed to be completely restored.  The fabric was not nice at all and the wood had been heavily stained.

photo (56) (1)

photo (55)

The idea was that I would have a go at restoring these chairs (I have four of them), however, on close inspection of the chairs, I realised I was out of my depth and it wasn’t just a simple recover of the chair, there was much more work involved.

I contacted a local chap who restores furniture, Jim from myjunk4u, he restored all the chairs back to life.

IMG_7333

We chose red leatherette for the fabric for practical reasons with two young children, easy to wipe clean!  I wanted to add some colour to our quite neutral kitchen and really love this bright red!

photo (87)

I am really pleased with how the chairs look, although because of the heavy stain that was on them originally the wood hasn’t come up as sleek as I would have liked but it shows age and character and thats what I like about furniture, a bit of personality.  I have to say, these chairs are so comfortable too!

Gplan nest of tables

I have been needing a nest of tables for the lounge for a while but wasn’t keen to pay too much for them and managed to get this Gplan nest of tables for £10! A bargain I thought as they are in pretty good shape, they just need a little polish here and there but they are in remarkably good condition. I really love the shape of the legs when they are all nested together. A very practical but great quality piece of furniture at a bargain price!

letterpress letters2letterpress letters

Another passion I have is typography and I really like the old wooden letterpress letters and I have started to collect some. It is a bit addictive and I am finding myself wanting more and more letters of different sizes and fonts! I do need some lowercase letters so that may be my next purchase.

explore quote

I had a lot of fun playing around with these letterpress block letters, experimenting with different combinations and different words etc. I am hoping to progress with this further in the future as I do enjoy making these and would like to have some special sayings placed around my home.

Do you like vintage? What’s your favourite piece/s?

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Random & Interesting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Vintage Finds

  1. Jane Jones says:

    These are lovely – the chairs look great. He has done a really good job – clever man. You have chosen some really nice pieces. I wonder what they would have looked like in an upholstery weight of one of your lovely unique fabric prints. I bet they would have looked great too. Keep up the good work!

  2. Thanks Jane. Yes, we were pleased with these chairs, really adds colour to our kitchen. I have just posted a new blog post with a selection of bespoke furniture, one of which used my Kakapo’s fabric. I am so pleased with it and it is so personal to me, a special piece of furniture. 🙂

  3. orangeduckfeet says:

    Lovely chairs, indeed. Thanks for sharing!
    How are the seats constructed? Springs? Webbing?
    I also have some ben chairs to be upholstered, they have a seat board with a hole cut out in the middle; I am trying to get my head around how they would have been done originally (as it is quite clear, someone has done a poor upholstery job). If there is any way you could include a pic from underneath the chair seat, that would be much appreciated
    Thanks!

  4. Thank you for your lovely comment. I have included some additional photos that show the underneath of the chair and hope that helps. Best of luck with your renovation project. 🙂

    • orangeduckfeet says:

      Thanks very much! I have pondered the question, and think I will go for webbing to go across the hole. I believe originally my chairs would have had some woven fabric with some elastic woven into it (I found remnants of this when dismantling them).
      Enjoy your new kitchen!

  5. Janice turon says:

    I worked in Benchairs’ London showroom in 1973 – the furniture was mase in the factory in Frome, Somerset and was for sale or rent to hotels, pubs and restaurants. They also hired out the delicate spingle- backed gold chairs you still see at functions. Lovely to see the chairs are still valued ad stylish.

Leave a Reply

