Buying Local – Bespoke Furniture

I like to support local businesses as much as possible and I am so pleased that we have recently got some lovely, bespoke pieces of furniture made for our new home.  The quality of the wood and the workmanship is superb and it is great that it is totally original.

photo (86)

This beautiful table is made from a mixture of walnut, oak and maple by Oak Hill Joinery. The reason we decided to do it in stripes is because my husband and I couldn’t agree on the type of wood, I wanted oak and he wanted walnut so we compromised and the carpenter added in maple to balance it out and the effect is fantastic. I love stripes so I am very happy with the end result.

photo (80)

There has been a lacquer added to finish this table off, this will add better protection for the table and a lovely shine which really highlights the beautiful wood.

photo (79)

There was only one little mistake that we made and that was that we didn’t really check the measurements that well, they said it was going to be 8ft by 4ft and as I am a metric girl, I didn’t really comprehend just exactly how big that was until it was too late to change. However, when we build our house (a dream for the future!), we will be building it to accommodate this table!  It will be perfect for dinner parties though so what better excuse to have one!

photo (85)

This is another bespoke piece we commissioned Oak Hill Joinery to make for our master bedroom. We had some wasted space in our room and as this house was built with no storage upstairs, it was something that needed to be done, everybody needs good storage. We got this wardrobe built in and another larger one with sliding doors also built in as there was no linen storage. We chose oak for the wardrobes to match the rest of the doors in the house which are beautiful oak doors.

Kakapos Storage Bench

The final piece of bespoke furniture is quite personal to me as the fabric I used for this piece was my own design, ‘Kakapos amongst the Flowers’.  I had this design printed on heavy cotton twill and Jim of myjunk4u made this bench storage seat, another fantastic local business.  He did a wonderful job, it is a very practical piece with storage in the bench and also underneath, perfect for shoes underneath and hats, scarves, gloves etc inside the bench storage. I really love this piece of furniture and it really brightens up the entrance way.

Have you got a favourite piece of work from a local business?  Please do share in the comments, would love to hear about it.

For now I need to stop spending money and start making some!!  Back to designing and making! 🙂

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Random & Interesting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Buying Local – Bespoke Furniture

  1. Elizabeth - Lili & Mum's says:

    The table is beautiful!

  2. mlwilkie says:

    I love the table, I really like the alternating tones 🙂

Leave a Reply

