A Handmade Fathers Day

With Father’s Day fast approaching, I thought I would share with you a collection of handmade gift ideas from the online community which I have been collating onto my Handmade Gifts for him Pinterest board with the idea of actually making one of this ideas!   I will need to get cracking, time is running out!
IMG_1529

This is such a sweet, personal idea which is from Gluesticks Blog.  I think this idea is certainly do-able for the kids to do in the time frame and I have an idea to add my own twist to it.

DaD Photo Frame

Here’s another photo frame idea that I could do with the kids for them to give to their Daddy.  The tutorial is from Martha Stewart and comes with the template for the letters which I think I would put onto card for extra stability and durability.

DIY-Photo-Coasters

I have wanted to do these type of coasters for a while now as we always need coasters, my son has a habit of hiding them! The tutorial for these coasters have come from the fantastic Frugal Girls.  Still on the subject of coasters, I love the idea of making cement coasters, although I would probably only use them on our dining table as I wouldn’t want any little toes to get squashed by falling coasters.

coasters1

The tutorial for these contemporary cement coasters is from A Daily Something.  I would imagine you could use the same tutorial for making stepping stones for your garden, you would obviously just need a bigger mould.

Printed-leather-wallets

I love these slim leather wallets, this fabulous tutorial comes from The World of Pineapple and are made to fit US Dollar notes so you will have to adjust the tutorial according to the size of the notes of your country.  I love the printed leather that has been used for these wallets, you can purchase printed leather and other leather goods from The World of Pineapple’s Etsy shop.  I am in love with the vintage map and butterfly printed leather, not sure I will have enough time to purchase and make this wallet but I still have time for my husbands birthday, watch this space!

I have collected a few more tutorials for handmade gifts for him on my Pinterest board.  You can also check out and follow me on Pinterest by clicking here.

Do you have any handmade gift ideas to share, or perhaps a Pinterest board you would like to share, I would love to hear from you, please drop me a note in the comments. 🙂

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Random & Interesting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

