That was then, this is now!

Tomorrows the longest day of the year so I thought now is the time to write a rather wordy blog post so you all have plenty of daylight hours to read it!  No, seriously, I think I have come to a point where I need to stop, reflect and share with you about me, about where I’ve been, and where I plan to go.

In the beginning the blog took a while for me to actually start, I was slightly uneasy about writing about myself, the projects I am doing and everything else in between.  However, over time, I actually have come to enjoy writing this blog and absolutely love receiving comments and connecting with other bloggers.  I do love the blogging community, there is such a wealth of interest, thoughts and ideas that swirl around online.

I have also discovered more about myself from writing this blog.  I look back over the past 18 months and I can see I move from one thing to the next, probably not the best trait to have in a person but it is something that I just can’t seem to stop and perhaps why in my whole 20 working years I have only ever had one permanent job for two years!  Now, that kind of sounds like I have not worked much but for six years I just did contract work in order to travel the world, I would work for four months and then travel for two months, those were the days!  Then I went back to school for a couple of years and did a degree in Multimedia Arts which I absolutely loved, especially video editing/effects, oh how technology has moved on since then.  I struggled to find work in the multimedia industry so again did some contract work before having children, then it all changed, sleep depravation for at least two years takes it’s toll on oneself!

Now that was then and this is now and I need to figure out how to concentrate on doing one idea and working on that idea further.  The trouble I have is choosing the one idea to focus on as I love designing for fabrics, I love photography, I want to learn lino printing and sculpture and I also want to develop a collection of prints with some special sayings on that I have come up with or have been inspired by my children.

I guess no one said this journey of discovery would be easy, I sometimes think having a 9-5 job would be an easier option, then I slap myself and remind myself how boring I found being stuck in an office and how fortunate I am to be able to work flexi time in my husband’s company and also follow my dream and make it a reality.  Nothing is easy and if it were I guess everyone would be doing it.

I have another 6 months to get things working on the right track, I gave myself this year to truly focus on my goals and scarily already we are halfway through the year.  I now need to focus and work even harder to make things work.

I hope to bring to my blog more of my work and hope that I am working towards the right direction.  I am a true believer in fate and if it is meant to be it will be and if it’s not then there is a reason for that and a different direction I shall go.  Everything happens for a reason, maybe it is not so clear at the time but upon reflection it does become clear.  Well that’s kind of how it has happened so far in my life story!

If you have managed to read all this, I appreciate that and I hope that it has given you an insight into myself and what I am about.

As I mentioned I enjoy the blogging community, therefore imagine this blog post was like a community get together in the local village and I just stood up and told you a bit about me and my goals etc, why don’t you stand up and tell me a bit about you, I will be listening and possibly eating cake!

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Random & Interesting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to That was then, this is now!

  1. If there is cake, you can count me in. Life, like blogging is always changing and evolving. Good luck with your endeavor!

  2. Thanks so much Heidi for your comments, you are so right, it is always evolving and I keep on learning just like in life! I shall pass you a slice of virtual chocolate cake! 🙂

  3. Blogging is one of the best thing I am doing now in my life, the sense of community and the continuous learning process is great. And of course we are always evolving !! Izabel

  4. Absolutely agree Izabel, it is a total learning process and there is a sense of community which is nice to have as sometimes when you work from home it can feel somewhat isolating at times. I am pleased that you are enjoying blogging so much. Thanks so much for you comments. 🙂

  5. mlwilkie says:

    I have loved following you and love your work…in fact I blogged about you and your fabric today today 🙂
    http://factotum-of-arts.com/2013/06/21/finish-it-up-friday-21-06-2013-hexagon-trivet/

  6. Thank you so much Michelle, such nice words, and I do love following you too and love all your fabulous projects that you are making. The trivet is lovely and so well made, the fabric choices look great, thanks so much for the mention to, much appreciated. 🙂

Leave a Reply

