Summer inspired Surface Designs

Well, I would love to say the lovely, hot, sunny weather has inspired my summer surface designs but that would be kind of a lie, this is the UK and this is summer and it’s never that sunny and hot but we do get a few lovely days which we all cherish so very dearly!

Summer for me is all about colour and for my first design I went bright yellow and lime – Lemon and Lime slices!

LemonLimes2

I created this design by hand carving rubber stamps, two different sizes and then using ink stamp pads (lime green and yellow), I stamped a few, which I then cut out, scanned, edited and rearranged in Photoshop before finally putting it into a seamless repeat for fabric or wall-covering.

Lemon Stamp

The picture above shows the small rubber stamp I carved with some samples on paper. I did not have yellow or lime green stamp pad to hand but just wanted to see how it looked stamped so I used what I had and I have to say, using acrylic paint is not advised for stamping!

LemonLimeSlicesCushion

A mock up of the design on a cushion which is available to purchase from my Society6 store.

LemonLimeSlicesFramedPicture

I really love this framed print, the simplicity and texture of the stamping is really effective. It is also available from my Society6 store and I think I might just buy this as I think it would look great in the kitchen!

picnic

I am currently doing a Typography course through Skillshare.com, so I have a new passion and interest in typography, hence this project of using objects to create words.  The image above is the starting point before adding more colour.

PicnicWIP

I felt it needed more colour and really like the plaid background as I felt it suited the theme.  I’m still not sure about the colours for the letters and as you can see in the image below, some of the letters get lost when it is made into a seamless repeat for fabric.

Picnic9

I am a bit undecided whether this design lends itself to a fabric design or just for words. I see it as a work in progress as I have some more ideas to work with on this one!

I hope you are all enjoying summer and making the most of the warm weather when it comes!

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Fabric Design & Illustration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer inspired Surface Designs

  1. Beautiful, I like your rubber stamp, cheerful design 🙂

Leave a Reply

