Recycled craft, photography and surface designs

Exciting times; first place in the village craft show for my recycled newspaper woven basket, you can check out the tutorial here.

Recycled Newspaper Basket

And second place for both of my photographs, the categories were; reflection and farming.

Reflection Puddle Photo

Farming - Lamb

I am encouraged, and I hope to progress this passion and interest further in the Autumn when I will be undertaking a short course in photography.

I have great plans of more recycled and upcycled projects to create and write new tutorials for in the future, I just need to find that extra hour that seems to disappear!!

I have also created a new surface design, horse rider silhouette on horse shoes stripes.

HorseShoeStripesFinal2b

The silhouette is of my daughter a few weeks ago at her horse riding lesson. The repeat for this design will be scaled down and I am hoping to get some fabric to make a bag for her horse riding hat. I know I will also need to do one for my son but I just can’t seem to get a photo of him in one position, he is forever turning his head!

And finally, I have a few new collections for sale in my Spoonflower shop, I have scaled down a few of the repeats as I felt the pattern was a bit too large.  All my designs can be customised.

Spring Collection - Mosaics (2)

Spring Time Mosaics

Spring Collection - Mosaics

Spring Time Mosaics

Floral Garden Tools

Floral Garden Tools

Sailing Stripes

Sailing Stripes

That is a snap shot of what I have been up to in the past week.

I am now working on some new projects which I do hope to blog about in the next few weeks, but in the meantime, please do keep in touch, I am on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest, would be great to connect!

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Fabric Design & Illustration, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Recycled craft, photography and surface designs

  1. Elizabeth - Lili & Mum's says:

    Congratulations on your awards! I love the horse print, as I used to ride. I am so glad your daughter is taking lessons. Your other fabrics are also very pretty!

  2. Congratulations on your awards !!:-) My daughter have a passion for horses too.Your fabrics are wonderful.

  3. Congratulations on your awards. I always enjoy your posts and am so pleased to see that your creativity is being acknowledged this way.
    Kim

  4. Beautiful capture of the water puddle! Congratulations! ~M.

    http://redesignedbym.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

