Typography – experimenting with type

I am currently doing a Skillshare course called The Art of Typography which I am enjoying very much.  I never really appreciated how much there is to learn about type and how difficult it is to do.  I am working on a saying that is part of the big saying I have printed on tea towels and cushions.  I started with sketching, moved onto illustrator then tried mixed media!

photo (108)

I started off with some simple sketches to get an idea of layout and word importance etc. I realised at this point that my sketching needs a lot of work but it is nice to get away from the computer.

photo (109)

Just trying out a few different typefaces.

photo (110)

At this point I was feeling a bit frustrated with my sketching, I just can’t seem to write straight and couldn’t get the balance right so I thought time to have a play on Illustrator.

QUOTE1B_NEWSPAPER

I like the balance of this design and the incorporation of the newsprint but I am still not sure about the font used and feel it needs a bit more work in that area. I decided to move away from the computer and make a mixed media styled canvas with this quote on, below is the step by step process I went through.  I was inspired by this tutorial by a Beautiful Mess.

LifeBestStoryEver1

Cut smalls squares of newspaper and stick on the canvas using modpodge, making sure it is all well glued.

LifeBestStoryEver2

I used special A4 sticker paper which I printed the words directly onto and then cut each letter out by hand.  An easier way would be to buy the sticker letters but as I didn’t have any to hand, I just used what I had.

LifeBestStoryEver3

I then stuck the letters on to the canvas, making sure that the newspaper was completely dry.  I then spray painted the canvas white and waited for it to dry.

LifeBestStoryEver4

Once the canvas was dry, I carefully peeled the letters off. This was the tricky bit as some paint had got underneath a little bit so it didn’t come out as neat as I would have liked and I think the smaller letters weren’t as effective.

LifeBestStoryEver5

I am pleased with my first effort, I can see how I can improve it and look forward to doing more in the future.

I am still not sure of the fonts used so this may still be very much a work in progress.

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Mixed Media & Experimenting with Acrylics and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Typography – experimenting with type

  1. This post was very interesting to read. Typography looks difficult, but a lot of fun! You did an awesome job.

  2. Pingback: Quotes For Unique Home Decor - 14 Brilliant DIY Ideas |DIYManiac

Leave a Reply

