Recycle, Stitch and 3D Print

Last week I had a bit clean up of my office/workshop and made a discovery about myself! I have a lot of craft products and projects that need to be used and completed! Also my pinterest board is filling up with loads of fantastic tutorials which could utilise some of the stock that I have on my shelves, so I have merged those two thoughts and have made a pact with myself to make as much as I can whilst the kids are on school holidays!  This may be more of a challenge than I anticipate!

My first mini project was to make a small notebook from a cereal box and some of the gift wrap that I designed last year.

handmade mini notebook

I sourced the tutorial from here.  The tutorial is slightly different to what I made but it is a great tutorial to use for a base to create your notebook and what a fabulous idea to use up an old cereal box.  I am very hot on recycling/repurposing items to create new products.  I think that stems from my childhood where we didn’t have a lot and we had to recreate with what we had and not much was wasted that’s for sure.

Stitched Card

I needed to make some Thank You cards and I found this cute idea from this tutorial I pinned on Pinterest.  It was intended that my daughter stitch this but she decided she would draw her thank you cards instead.  It is a project for school age kids and I think if I was to do it again, I would make the stitches a bit further apart to make it easier for the kids.

Stitched Thank You cards

I really liked doing this project and it was good to use up some supplies I have had sitting on the shelf for a while.

3D Printed Bracelet

Can you guess how this bracelet was made?  Yes, that’s right, it was printed by our 3D printer, well the printer belongs to my husband’s business but he has yet to utilise it and I am so fascinated by the idea of 3D printing, I just had to see for myself what it could print.  This bracelet is so light and has a slight stretch which I have to admit it did get a bit loose last week in the heat so I am not sure how viable this material would be.  However there is so much potential with this technology, it is very exciting and has made me think about about getting to grips with 3D modelling, something I haven’t done for over 10 years!

Exciting times ahead, experimenting with 3D printing, creating and making new products from my existing supplies and starting a short photography course in the Autumn!

I hope to get the balance right and bring lots of creativity, tutorials, design, photography and inspiration over the next few months.

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Random & Interesting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

