All things Lavender

There is a lovely Lavender Farm (Hitchin Lavender) very near to where I live, and although I have been living here for over four years, I have never thought to visit until a good friend recommended it.

lavender13 (1 of 1)

The smell was just divine and the colours were stunning against the neighbouring field full of wheat ready to harvest.

wheat2 (1 of 1)

Lavender3 (1 of 1)

We were given two bags to fill with as much lavender as you could pick and as much as the bag could take.

lavender9 (1 of 1)

Lavender1 (1 of 1)

To be honest, I was so carried away taking pictures I didn’t cut as much as I could have. I was trying to get a close up of some bees but they move fast and the wind was blowing too so trying to get the right shutter speed for an amateur like myself was not as easy as I would have liked.

lavender10 (1 of 1)

lavender11 (1 of 1)

I’ve still got lots to learn but I am enjoying getting out there and experimenting a little.

Lavender6 (1 of 1)

Lavender5 (1 of 1)

I am planning on using the dried lavender to make pouches and also mix it with wheat to make wheat bags which is something I do like to have to hand for winter and for any aches and pains.

photo (134)

I hope to have a blog post about the things I have made with the lavender within the next month or so. I believe it will take about 2-3 weeks for it to dry properly.

photo (135)

I have strung them up in bunches and hung them on the shelving in the garage.  My husband’s car is going to smell lovely!

If you have any suggestions for using Lavender, please do comment below, I would love to get as many ideas as possible.  And if you are ever near Hitchin, I definitely recommend a visit, there is also a lovely café there that serves very nice cakes, slices and sandwiches!

 

 

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Photography, Random & Interesting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All things Lavender

  1. Wonderful place and photos !!

Leave a Reply

