Developing Papier-Mâché – The story of a bird and a boat

Last week I decided that I really needed to finish some projects that had been sitting on the ‘work in progress’ shelf! I chose these two papier-mâché projects, the sailing boat and the bird. The sailing boat is one that I have had a clear idea of how I want to progress but just never had enough time to get it done, but the bird, well, I have struggled with him, trying to work out the best way forward.

Bird1

Admittedly, I got as far as spray painting the boat and selecting the fabric for the sail before I got consumed in the bird again, he seems to take up my thoughts and I have this feeling I just want to get him right but the images in my brain don’t always come out in real life! An example is the photo below.

Bird2

I wanted to use leather and suede to add a nice, soft texture and create a nice mix of colours based loosely upon the British Sparrow. However, I felt that the mix wasn’t right, so I started again.

Bird 3

I opted for keeping a bit more simpler and focusing more on the shapes of the leather and suede and mixing it together seamlessly.

Bird 4

Bird 5

I really liked this mix and how it was progressing, I felt positive I was on the right track…..and then..

Bird 6

I added a lighter suede for the underneath of the bird which is true to the bird I was basing this design on. However, something is niggling at me that this is not quite right although I still do like it. I am in a quandary and would appreciate anyone’s thoughts/opinions on this, do I keep the underneath a light suede or do a use the brown leather or light brown suede?

I am off camping tomorrow for 3 nights, first camping trip in our hot pink camper, will be quite an adventure! This bird will be coming along too – I am determined to get him finished this weekend. Any suggestions, greatly received.

Hot Pink VW Camper

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Developing Papier-Mâché – The story of a bird and a boat

  1. Elizabeth - Lili & Mum's says:

    The bird is great!!! I also like the pink camper! It’s so sedate. 🙂

  2. Love the bird and the pink camper is so cute 🙂

Leave a Reply

