Birds & People Photography – an Inspiration

On my recent trip to north Norfolk, we visited a lovely town called Holt which is nestled inland from the coast and has some fabulous galleries of which we enjoyed mooching about in.  We spent quite some time in the Photographers Gallery where there was a really good exhibition on the work of a local photographer called David Tipling.

Barn Owl Tyto alba North Norfolk winter

By David Tipling Photography – http://www.davidtipling.com

Barn Owl, Tyto alba, peering from nest site in derelict barn, UK, summer

By David Tipling Photography – http://www.davidtipling.com

I have a fondness for birds, wildlife and landscape, so his work really captured and inspired me.

Birds_David Tipling Photography

By David Tipling Photography – http://www.davidtipling.com

David Tipling has spent the last 6 years working with author Mark Cocker on a project documenting the cultural links of birds to people around the globe, they have published the book, Birds & People, of which I just had to buy.  It was also wonderful to meet David in the gallery and have a chat to him about his work and how he started out with photography.  I have been so inspired as an amateur photographer starting out.

photo (149)

By David Tipling Photography – http://www.davidtipling.com

It is a fantastic book full of knowledge and beautiful photography, a book to keep for reference and inspiration, I would definitely recommend it.

I will be using this book a lot as I am hugely inspired by nature and birds and I hope to make more bird sculptures in the future.  As well as this, I find this book useful for my progression with photography, maybe one day I will be at least half as good as David Tipling!

Here are a couple of my bird photo’s from my recent trip to Norfolk.

IMG_8767

IMG_8921-001

I know, I have a long way to go, but it’s good to aspire to greater things!

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

