How kids see Dinosaurs – an evolution of a design!

Everyone knows what Dinosaurs look like but have you really seen them in the way kids do?  I few weeks back I asked my kids to draw some dinosaurs as an exercise to stave off summer holiday boredom and I said I might make the drawings into a fabric design for an up and coming Spoonflower competition.

AlexsDinosaurs

My five year old son came up with these simplistic but cute drawings of dinosaurs with some added stickers for a bit of colour I guess. As my son doesn’t like to draw much, I was most impressed.

mADDYS dINOSAUR2

My seven year old daughter was not so keen on drawing dinosaurs so she only did one but it is a good one, big teeth and all!

dinosaur with colour

I did make some alterations with the dinosaurs, added a tail, a couple of legs and a few spikes here and there!

AlexDinosaur3

My daughter selected the colours, she took great pride in the colour selection and I think she did a great job with it, I really like the colours, they work well together. There was some debate over the tortoise dinosaur my son had drawn, we thought it needed 4 legs and a tail but he wasn’t keen on a tail at first but then decided a little pointed tail would be fine.

Dinosaurs6

The final design in a repeat in Fat Quarter size. I was under strict instructions that the bird mustn’t change at all so it is how he drew it with a very long smile the length of his body. I love the fact that all the dinosaurs are smiling, good to see that’s how my kids see them!

Dinosaur Cushion

I like this design on the cushion from my Society6 shop, I think I will buy a yard of this fabric from Spoonflower and make a few cushions for my kids since they did most of the design and are rightly proud of their effort too.

They are now asking to help with more designs, I can’t knock their enthusiasm!

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Fabric Design & Illustration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to How kids see Dinosaurs – an evolution of a design!

  1. mlwilkie says:

    I loved them when I saw them on your facebook page. They and you have done a great job!!

  2. Pingback: Designing with kids | Mimi and Will

Leave a Reply

