Simple sewing – no patterns required!

I love that feeling when you are at the end of the weekend and you have actually managed to make something or do something that was on your ‘to do’ list for the weekend, it gives you such a sense of achievement. That is how I have felt this weekend. After a really hard week with a lot of stress, I have had such a lovely, creative weekend of making. Always good for the soul!

First on the list was to make some mini lavender heat pads for my children to have in their beds now the night’s are getting cooler.

mini lavender heat pads

These mini lavender heat pads are very quick and easy to make, no patterns are needed to make these. Just get two squares of fabric, mine were eight inch swatch samples of my fabric designs so they were different designs on either side. Great way to use up fabric swatches! Just sew a half inch seam all the way around, leave a two to three inch gap so that you can fill with rice and lavender mix, only fill the bag half way, then sew the gap closed.

mini lavender heat pads2

The above is the other side of the lavender heat pads so you can see the different swatches I used, the fabrics are full colour which I love!  You could leave your bag like it is or do what I did and make two seams to create quarters. This just makes the rice/lavender mix a bit more even. I have made bigger lavender heat pads, here is a Lavender Heat Pad Tutorial which explains in more detail.

I made two extra for my neighbours children too which they were really happy about.  My children love them and it makes their rooms smell heavenly and keeps their bed lovely and warm.

Another quick sewing project you can complete with out any patterns is a cushion (pillow).  Cut out two 16 inch squares or whatever size your cushion insert is.  Here is a great tutorial to check out for sewing with an invisible zip, http://kirinote.blogspot.co.uk/2009/10/how-to-sew-cushion-cover-with-invisible.html.Sew.

Aotearoa Cushions

If you can sew straight lines, then you can sew these two projects. Sewing zips used to scare me to be honest but now I have done quite a few, it really doesn’t unnerve me anymore and I prefer zips on my cushions than buttons.

Aotearoa Cushions and lampshade

And here are the finished cushions with a lampshade I made a few months ago in the same Aotearoa collection fabric, the cushions will be up for sale in my Etsy shop this week.

There is also a gorgeous sausage dog which came with the latest Mollie Makes magazine which I just had to sew up as it is so cute!

I hope I have inspired you to try your hand at sewing.  These projects are great starter projects and it does feel really good when you can see the finished result and know that you made that yourself!

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Fabric Design & Illustration and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

