An insight into making purses

Last week I dropped off an order for 10 coin purses using my retro kitchenalia fabric to a lovely shop in Leicester called Housekeeping, you can check the shop out here; www.housekeepingstore.co.uk, they have some beautiful products on offer.

While I was sewing these purses, I thought it would be good to document the process that goes into making them as although they are small, there is a bit of work that goes into them. I find the smaller projects are, the more times needs to be spent creating them.

blue retro purse cut out pieces

The first step is to cut out the pattern for both the outer fabric and lining fabric. I have this set up on a template so it is just a matter of cutting around lines.

ironing interfacing

You need to have interfacing for both the outer and lining fabrics, I use a medium weight for the outer fabric and a light weight for the lining fabric. To make life easier, I use iron on interfacing. The interfacing helps strengthen and to give shape to the purse.

stitching label in

I sew in my logo label to the lining fabric.

stitching seams

I then put right sides together of both outer and lining fabrics and sew an approximate 1 cm seam around marked area, leaving a gap at the bottom for the lining fabric to allow to pull through later.

seams shows_gap for lining pieces

seams for outer fabric

Squaring off corners

Pin and sew corners to make a square bottom for the purse.
Corners stitched up

Outer put inside inner

This is the bit I find the trickiest, when you attach the lining to the outer fabric, it takes the most time and very careful sewing to ensure there are no holes when turned the right way. I also hand sew part of this to make it as strong as possible.

Pinned together

Stitching up lining

Final sewing part is to sew up the lining.

waiting for purse frame to be attached

Once it is all sewn up, give it an iron and then attach the purse frame to the fabric.

Blue and Red Retro Coin purses

red and blue coin purses

Red Retro Coin Purse boxed

And there you have it, the journey of creating a cute coin purse. All my purses that I sell come gift boxed with my own saying stamped on the inside. You can check out my Etsy shop to see what purses I have available, as well as this, you can contact me if you want anything customised.

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Fabric Design & Illustration and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to An insight into making purses

  1. Elizabeth - Lili & Mum's says:

    They are cute! You are very talented.

  2. craftysorcha says:

    Gorgeous and such a lot of work.

  3. Love the purses and great blog post too! Just goes to show how much care and work goes into handmade products.

  4. DeDivahDeals says:

    This are simply adorable and you put so much time and effort into them – talented!!!

  5. Thank you so much for your kind comments! 🙂

Leave a Reply

