A DIY 10th Anniversary Gift

As I mentioned last week, it was coming up to my 10th wedding anniversary and being slightly disorganised, I did leave the gift to the last minute.

Tin is the metal for 10th Anniversary and I was trying to think creatively about what would look nice with tin.  My husband has a lady who works with him whose name is Tin and had jokingly suggested he was bringing her home, she did look slightly worried but thankfully understood the joke!

As we are not big on gift giving as such, I thought a more personal gift would be much better received.  I found a tin and set about recycling it by covering it in fine Italian leather.  Then I sat at the computer to come up with my own poem that would sit on the outside of the tin, this was no easy feat with a very talkative 5 year old sitting next to me!

tin (1 of 1)

Inside the tin was a more personal note sharing my thoughts and feelings although writing this late at night was not the best idea as I did not proof read as well and there was a small spelling error which totally changed the context of the note.  Thankfully, we just had a laugh about it!

wedding (1 of 1)

It is sometimes hard to believe that 10 years has passed by, it has gone by so quickly but it has been wonderful.  We hope to go back to Cape Town next year to where we got married.

I still have my 10% discount on my ETSY shop until the 17th October, all you need to do is put AUTUMN10 in the coupon area at the check out.

I hope to have some new designs up soon to showcase and I hope to have my website completed very soon.  There just never seems to be enough hours in the day!

 

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Random & Interesting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A DIY 10th Anniversary Gift

  1. craftysorcha says:

    I love your gift. Personalised gifts are the best, they show how much you know the other person. Lovely wedding photo too!

  2. Congratulations on your 10th anniversary !!
    You are right time go so quickly 🙂

  3. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY AND TO MANY MANY MORE YEARS OF LOVE AND HAPPINESS!

Leave a Reply

