Exploring Cambridge through the Lens

Well, amazingly the rain did decide to stop for a day so we were able to get out and do the final photography workshop day in Cambridge. It was windy and sunny so the light was a bit of a challenge, but a good challenge.

cobbles and cycles2 (1 of 1)

This post is going to be mostly photo based, however I do hope to have some new designs to show later this week and hopefully a tutorial soon!

I really did enjoy taking photos around Cambridge, it is a beautiful city with so many wonderful opportunities to capture that beauty.

tree line1 (1 of 1)

tree arms3 (1 of 1)

For this shot I had to get right up close to the trunk of the tree and hope that the wind would not bring any branches down on me!

I do love the vibrant green of the leaves against the blue of the sky. Strangely a lot of trees were still very green.

leaves and trees4 (1 of 1)

I have decided knee pads might be a good investment! I got down very low for this shot!

 spokes and leaves (1 of 1) old meets new bike (1 of 1)   bikes4 (1 of 1) Bike2 (1 of 1) Bike1 (1 of 1)

Cambridge is a city full of bicycles and I loved capturing them.

ST Marys Church Detail1 (1 of 1)

ST Marys Church 3 (1 of 1)

St Mary’s Church, Cambridge.

Chimneys2 (1 of 1)

I had fun playing with different angles, I like the abstract look of this shot.

light post (1 of 1)  lamp post detail (1 of 1)fence top (1 of 1)

I really like the detail of the lamp posts and fences especially in black and white.

TelephoneBox1 (1 of 1)

A splash of colour!

road3 (1 of 1)

If you would like to see the full range of shots that I took, please visit my Flickr page, I haven’t put 100’s of photo’s up, just a selection. My father has a competition with a neighbour to see how many photos they can take on holiday and then make them sit and watch the slide show when they get back, they have got into the 1000’s and had to do several sittings for the slide show as it was too long to do in one sitting!!

On that note, I hope you liked my beginner’s shots of Cambridge, I am truly loving photography and learning so much as I go along.

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Exploring Cambridge through the Lens

  1. DeDivahDeals says:

    I can only imagine all the twists and turns you had to make in order to get these wonderful shots – excellent!

Leave a Reply

