Keeping it real – Sewing tribulations

I so wanted to bring you an amazing and inspiring sewing tutorial but I decided to keep it real and show you that sometimes things don’t always work out and it is a matter of trial and error.  I wanted to create a simple A-line skirt for my 7 year old who absolutely loves all the skirts I have made for her, all 3 of them!  She wears them all the time which is so lovely, and  I wanted to celebrate that and encourage it. It is so different to me when I was growing up when I had nothing bought for me, everything was handmade even down to my swimming costume and sunhat!  I longed for clothes from a shop but now my thoughts and views have changed and I love handmade, it is personal, unique and original.

Vintage Fabric

I picked out some lovely vintage fabric which is a nice winter weight. Admittedly I don’t have a lot of this fabric and I would advise anyone who is about to embark on making up a skirt without a pattern to probably use some scrap fabric like calico first! Probably my biggest mistake in this process and one I shall learn from. I was just too impatient!

Vintage fabric childs A Line skirt

You can see from the end result how the distribution of fullness is not right, it drops at the side hem. I have been advised that adding flair could be done at the hips so adding darts would have helped as well as slashing the centre fold and opening up the hem. I was referring to an online tutorial which seemed so simple but once I started it I realised there is more to an A-line skirt, I even got a protractor out to get the angle right, I haven’t used a protractor in more than 20 years!

Vintage ALine Skirt Girls side view

I am hoping to rework this skirt although my daughter loves it how it is and she can do the splits in it, that was her testing method so she was happy. However, for me, it is not right and it bothers me so I will correct it, hopefully in the next week or so. I shall post a picture when it is up to the standard I would like it to be.

I have learnt so much from this process, sewing is a bit more complicated than simply cutting and sewing, it will be a trial and error process for me as I just can’t get my brain to understand patterns and I seem to want to create the pattern myself as I will understand it better. I was always the one in my textile class doing something slightly different from the normal, papier mâchè bodice and feather skirt for example! I like mixing it up and experimenting!

Do you have any sewing or pattern making tips that you would like to share, I sure could do with them, please comment below.

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Keeping it real – Sewing tribulations

  1. It’s gorgeous fabric and it’s so encouraging that your daughter loves it. My almost 7yo daughter loves that I sew for her too. It’s interesting that only one side is longer, if you compare both side fronts and both side backs, you should easily see where the extra fabric is.
    You probably know about grainlines – the extra fabric on one side could also be caused by the bias of the fabric. Placing the centre fronts and backs on the grain line of the fabric would also help.
    If I think of some resources, I will come back with the link. I find it very helpful to check out the shapes of pattern pieces in magazines like Burda or Japanese pattern books.

  2. craftysorcha says:

    I like the skirt!
    I also admire you for sharing your mistakes/learning process. It’s very honest and more realistic!

    • Thank you for your lovely comments. I like to keep it real as nobody’s perfect right, well I am far from it that is for sure! Plus I believe you can learn something from mistakes, I know I have in this case! 🙂

  3. I’m brave enough to just cut away when I’m making craft type items or even can manage quilt blocks but always need to use a pattern for garments. I’m just not skilled enough to do it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

