Hand Carved Leaf Stamps

We are certainly well and truly into Autumn now and I do love this time of year with such vibrancy of colours of the leaves that scatter my garden.  I was inspired and decided I would update a leaf design I did a few years ago, however, as I was updating it I felt this urge to mix it up a bit and do a new design, something non vector, a more organic design!

hand carved stamps 2 (1 of 1) I decided that leaves would lend themselves to rubber stamps really nicely, so out came my lino cutting set, I sketch the design on and carved away.

hand carved stamps 1 (1 of 1)I made three different leaf designs.

hand carved stamps 3 (1 of 1) I am just an amateur when it comes to lino cutting/rubber stamp making but I do really enjoy making them and love the results that they give when you start stamping them with different colours.

stamped leaves on sketch pad (1 of 1)

I love the texture that is created by stamping.

stamped leaves close up (1 of 1)

I used pigment ink stamp pads in gold, bronze, lime green, yellow and red. I wish I had an orange but because I didn’t, I just double stamped the red and yellow to give it a punch of colour but toned down a little with the yellow.

stamped leaves close up 2 (1 of 1)
The gold and bronze didn’t really show up so much but the colour is still really nice. It may have been the type of paper I had used, as well as this, I think on a darker background they may show up more. I shall experiment with that one at a later date.

stamped leaves (1 of 1)

I decided to have a play around with layout of the leaves, I really wanted to create a truly scattered look and I used this piece of paper to experiment for how I was going to put the leaves digitally for my fabric design.

I took a photo of my leaves and then cut them out in Photoshop and rearranged them. I have to admit this was the hard bit, trying to arrange them so to create a seamless pattern that didn’t look too linear and looks totally seamless, it was quite a challenge. My Photoshop skills are much weaker than my Illustrator, practice makes perfect right!

scattered leaves

Here is the final version which is shown on a cushion from my Society6 shop. I actually really like it as a cushion!

For fun I entered the design in the weekly Spoonflower competition, along with 381 designs!

I do enjoy getting away from the computer to design and actually really like lino cutting.  I am thinking in the New Year that I might do a little night course in it as I would like to have more skills and understand it more.  I am impressed that I only managed to stab myself once in the whole process, all in the name of art of course!

I hope to have this design up for sale in my Spoonflower shop before Christmas, I just need to get it proofed very soon!

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Fabric Design & Illustration and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

