How to make your own Fabric Swatch Books

I have been wanting to catalogue all my fabric swatches for a while as I felt they needed to be displayed properly for both my sake and for anybody that had enquired about my designs. I found a fantastic tutorial on Daisy Janie Blog and set about doing something similar.  However, it didn’t go to plan, the printable card, did not want to print on my printer, the eyelets I got did not want to go into the fabric and I managed to hammer my finger a few times before giving up on that idea.

So, I chose a simple but effective way of displaying my swatches, it probably took twice as long but I am happy with the results.  This is something you can do at home and there is no need for eyelets or book rings.

swatch book (1 of 1)-001

I had this black folder already which is a ring binder that zips up, great for taking to show potential customers etc.

swatch book inside (1 of 1)-001

Before even starting to put the fabric swatches into the folder, I used my pinking shears to cut around every swatch, this makes them look neater and also stops fraying.

swatch book inside close up (1 of 1)-001

I designed the label card in Illustrator, then I printed it on some sticker printer paper that I had already and stuck it onto the card that I had originally bought to print on. This process did take a bit longer and would have been quicker had my printer accepted the card that was meant for printing.

swatch book inside close up ticking (1 of 1)-001

I used the sticker printer paper to put on the side of the swatches to give it more support, look neater and also has information about that fabric.

swatch book inside close up Aotearoa (1 of 1)-001

Each fabric collection has it’s own label card.

swatch book inside close up bubble of love (1 of 1)-001

swatch book inside close up bubble of love2 (1 of 1)-001

I managed to get four collections in this folder due to the fact that it isn’t a very big ring binder however, I will be getting a few more of these type of ring binders as I like how this one has turned out and you can also keep additional swatches in the pocket and business cards etc.

One thing with organising my fabric swatches, it made me realise how many designs I have created and I have so many more I want to create! I can see storage being an issue in the future!

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Fabric Design & Illustration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

