Hand Stamped Christmas Card

Here is the update from my blog post last week ‘Christmas Card words’.  I had some really helpful feedback, both on this blog and also my Facebook page which I really do appreciate. I decided to keep most of the words the same but changing the last line from ‘happiness ever after’ to ‘memories ever after’, I felt it fitted better.

rubber stamp work in progress (1 of 1)
I decided to carve out a rubber stamp with these words on it to print onto card. This was a harder job than I first anticipated and I could have done with a larger piece of rubber to carve because it got a little bit tight with the letters and made it very fiddly to carve with the basic equipment I own.

rubber stamp carved (1 of 1)

I managed to get it all done and didn’t stab myself once, just my silly tennis elbow that caused me grief!

finished (1 of 1)-001

I am actually quite happy with how it turned out, it’s not perfect but I kind of like it like that! I am a mere beginner, so for me, I am very pleased that it worked out okay, it was a very experimental project.

Christmas Wishes

I took the stamped image into Photoshop and edited it to clean it up and change the colours and the spacing a little.

I am really getting a love for carving and have a bunch of ideas that I want to explore in the New Year!  For now though, I have got a very urgent request from my 7 year old, a Christmas tree with a star on top, she has drawn it how she wants it to look so I must get that one done soon!

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hand Stamped Christmas Card

  1. painterswife says:

    Well done – it looks great – I would not have thought that you a beginner. I really like the wave effect with the lettering.

Leave a Reply

