Handmade Gift Ideas for Christmas

It is getting closer to Christmas and time to get organised with gifts although I am sure some of you lovely organised people would have started a few weeks back maybe even months! I am on a mission to support handmade and local if possible in as many gifts I can although my kids want Lego so that is where it doesn’t always work!

So I want to showcase a few of the talented people I have come across on my mission to buy handmade and also I have a fabulous ‘do it yourself’ gift that is scrummy.

My sister’s birthday is 10 days before Christmas and this year is one of those milestone birthdays and made extra special as I will be in the country to celebrate and it will be the first time in many years that the whole family will be together, can’t wait! Therefore, for a special birthday I wanted to get something custom made and opted for a piece of jewellery from http://www.lucyloudesigns.co.uk/.

LucyLouDesigns

This wasn’t what I purchased but is a lovely example of her work.  I wont mention what I got made in case my sister reads this but it turned out beautiful and was personalised to make it extra special.

Phineas Bear (1 of 1)

How gorgeous is this lovely bear whom I bought for my new nephew who is due on Christmas Eve. He has been lovingly handmade by Bear Bovis who has an ETSY store https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/BearBovis.

Phineas Bear2 (1 of 1)

His joints all move, he has a wobbly head and a growler and oozes character.  He has been named Phineas by my kids – they are massive Phineas and Ferb fans!

InkyPrintHeartNotebookInkyPrintTeaGinNotebook

I purchased these two beautiful chunky eco notebooks which have been created by Inkyprints Originals and are based upon their original linocut design and reproduced to keep the character and colour of the original.  I am undecided who I am going to give these too or whether to keep them myself!

InkyPrint Originals (1 of 1)

I got a complimentary print from Inkyprints Originals which I promptly put into a frame and on display. Beautiful work and such a nice little surprise.

Mayan Hot Choc 3 (1 of 1)

Here is one gift you can do yourself at home, a nicely spiced Mayan Hot Chocolate.  I got the recipe from http://hellogiggles.com/diy-gift-ideas-mayan-hot-chocolate.

Mayan Hot Choc 2 (1 of 1)

I had some spare jars at home and filled them up and will add some ribbon and details of what is in the hot chocolate before giving it as a gift to my son’s teachers.

I have to say this is the best hot chocolate I have had, it is spiced just right and brings back memories from our time in Peru where we drank lightly spiced hot chocolate in the same café every afternoon and watched the traffic warden direct the cars in a very dramatic and interesting way that kept us entertained!  I love it when a simple taste or smell brings back great memories!  I will be making more of this hot chocolate for myself as it is the best and is really cost effective too!

UK Counties 2014 (1 of 1)

Finally, here is another gift I will probably be giving this Christmas, my own handmade original tea towels which I have just put up for sale for this week only from my ETSY store; https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/TheOriginalThread?section_id=14635524

Make 2014 (1 of 1)

The fabric is linen/cotton mix and the colours have printed beautifully.

One Spontaneous Moment (1 of 1)

I have a spare one of the Spontaneous Moment calendar tea towel and I am thinking of keeping that one myself and mounting it on canvas to make it as a wall display for the New Year. It would look great in my kitchen and the words mean a lot to me so it would be nice to see it every day.

That is just a small selection of the talented handmade goods on offer.  I really do enjoy buying handmade, I know from my own self how much work and thought goes into making a handmade product and that is what makes them special and original.

 

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Fabric Design & Illustration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Handmade Gift Ideas for Christmas

  1. Pingback: Handmade Gift Ideas for Christmas | YooCustomize.com

Leave a Reply

