Christchurch – Shaken but full of Inspiration and Promise

I am visiting my home city in New Zealand for the first time at Christmas in five years and it is my third visit since the first initial earthquake in September 2010, if that makes sense.

After the first earthquake, there was a fair amount of damage we saw when we visited in October 2010 and we even experienced an aftershock which was quite scary and makes my heart go out to all my friends and family who have experienced so many aftershocks. The next time I visited was March 2012 and nothing could really prepare me for the complete devastation that the February 2011 earthquake had on the city and it’s people. So many tragically lost their lives and so many lost their livelihood and homes.

IMG_9557

Christchurch Cathedral December 2013

However, on this visit, although there is so much destruction and loss in the city which is so very sad, there is an air of hope, promise and inspiration for a new city to shine.

IMG_9604I am so impressed with ingenious and innovation that has gone into regenerating the city centre with the container shops, banks and coffee shops.  I have to say the quality of the shops are fantastic, full of beautiful and creative work, a lot of local craft and arts on offer, I was in heaven!  Need more money next time as there was so much I wanted to purchase!

IMG_9524All through the city there was amazing street art, I love this one that looks 3D, it was in a temporary car park.

IMG_9564Another amazing piece of street art found near the Press building, really like how they have incorporated the fern into the hair.

IMG_9565IMG_9567Another fantastic piece of street art making a boring car park interesting.  Love the colours and the abstractness of this one.

IMG_9530IMG_9534Here’s a new installment being worked on, a mixture of styles and subjects will make this piece interesting to look at.

IMG_9547Even amongst the destruction there is colour and inspiration.

IMG_9601Simple wire fencing has been transformed into vibrant colours and shapes.

IMG_9588Interesting, contemporary installments dress the vacant land.

IMG_9597Another vacant area has been transformed into an innovative music garden using old items such as pipes, fire hydrants, and number plates.  My children really enjoyed playing in here and creating some interesting sounds!

IMG_9579We loved this giant sofa made of artificial grass.  There is fun seating all over the city which makes it a bit more interesting and adds colour and texture to the surrounding building works.

If you get a chance to visit this wonderful city, I would recommend taking a walk around and soak up the street art, art installments, innovative spaces and of course check out the fantastic shopping on offer!

I am both impressed and proud of the people of Christchurch for their positive and innovative approach to such tragedy which they have endured.

I hope you all have a wonderful Christmas with your family and friends.

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Random & Interesting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

