A New Year – A new set of challenges – Hello 2014!

Hello 2014! Okay I have been away from this blog for too long, I blame it on a mixture of a great holiday and terrible jet lag!

Already we are halfway through January and I may be the only one who hasn’t made any resolutions for the year.  Is that a bad thing I wonder?  However, I have thought about the future and the direction I want to go in and for the first part of this year I will be predominantly working on three projects.

Hot Pink VW Camper

The first one being the conversion of this lovely hot pink camper. It is currently getting a new engine installed which should be completed by the end of this month and then she will be coming back to the workshop for the camper conversion which I will be undertaking with the help of some of the guys at my husbands business and a neighbouring cabinet making business. Originally, I wanted to outsource the camper conversion but there is a six month waiting list for such a thing and I am too impatient for that plus we want to try and get it almost completed by mid March in time for the Charity Ball which I am part of the organising team. One of the main Auction prizes is the use of the Pink Camper for a week, so we really need to get cracking on completing it. We have some great ideas to how we want it to look, now we just have to make them reality! I am currently designing the fabric for the curtains and soft furnishings, I am wanting to create a design which depicts camping and have been brainstorming words.
photo (191)

This is what I have so far, do you have any other words that could be added, let me know.

August 2012 189

Another project I will be working on in the next couple of months is the Charity Ball which I am helping to organise with five other lovely ladies. The last one we did in April 2012 raisded £21,000, which was split between two charities, Walk the Walk Breast Cancer and Cancer Research UK. This year we are raising funds for Cancer Research UK, all monies raised will be going towards the research project into non-invasive cancer diagnostics led by Dr Rosenfeld at the Cancer Research Institute in Cambridge. We are hoping to raise £20,000 which is a big ask but this will help the research project so much and in future help many people to get a quicker and less invasive diagnosis. If any of my lovely blog followers/readers can help with any prizes, we would be ever so grateful. Without the generosity of individuals and businesses, we could not put on these events and raise much needed funds for research projects, we appreciate every little bit of help.

Design-Snapshots

The final project is one of self discovery and development. I will be undertaking several online courses to build my design portfolio up to make more cohesive and hopefully desirable collections for several mediums, fabrics, wallcoverings, ceramics etc.  I am looking forward to developing and growing as a designer and hopefully come up with some gorgeous collections!

In between camper conversions, charity ball organising, and designing, I shall be crafting and experimenting!

2014 is going to be a great year of discovery in both personal and professional measures.

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Random & Interesting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

