Getting my creativity juices flowing

I am not sure if it is post holiday blues or the cold, dull, winter days but my creativity juices have become a little dried up lately and I do find it incredibly frustrating at times.  That said, I know I am not alone and believe this happens to everyone at some point and when it does, it is time to take a step back and has some fun and experiment.  Well that is my plan of action.

Yesterday was the most frustrating day, I had some great ideas for a new design for this week’s Spoonflower challenge, Great Barrier Reef.  Having pondered over old photos of when we visited the reef in 1998, I felt suitably inspired with many ideas to develop.

great barrier reef2 (1 of 1)

However, when I transferred what was going on in my head onto the screen, they didn’t match, and I tumbled down the hill of despair and frustration until I reached a point at midnight where I felt the design was okay and submitted it. Although as I laid in bed trying to sleep, a sense of disappointment fell on me.

Underwater World-001

I have had some great suggestions from my lovely Facebook followers on how to improve this design, get rid of some the fish, make the corals and sea weed smaller and space it out a bit. I am open to any other suggestions, sometimes working alone can be hard as you need people to bounce ideas off especially when the creative juice is running low!

Sometimes when the creativity juices are not flowing, it is good to do something completely different, paint, sketch, visit an art gallery or museum are some ideas.  For me, I got flueroescent spray paint and experimented with it on small canvasses to test it out.

Spray Paint Experimenting2 (1 of 1)

The kids helped me with the stripped picture, they had great fun spraying paint everywhere and were quite disappointed that I put a blob of black paint on it as I wanted to mix it up a bit but they promptly sprayed over it! I think the amount of spraying on the striped canvas meant that it bleed through the masking tape and I got a bit of a blotchy stripe but strangely I quite like that effect, nothing’s perfect and I think this represents that thought!

I have a much larger canvas which I want to work on but need to plan it out a bit more as I want to write a message on it and spray paint is not a technique for tiny detail so it won’t be a big message!

For now, I am going to have fun and get my hands dirty in making a papier mâché piñata for my daughters birthday party next weekend.

I am hoping next week, I will have more creativity to show the juices are flowing in full force.

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Fabric Design & Illustration, Random & Interesting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

