Chinese Paper Cutting Inspired Fabric Design

Well last week I wrote about the juices of creativity being clogged up somewhat and the frustration that I felt not being able to produce what I had envisaged. This week I am pleased to say, the creativity is flowing much better and I am feeling more positive and full of inspiration!

I am trying to enter more surface design competitions in order to build my portfolio and stretch my skills more. This week I have been working on a Chinese Paper Cutting inspired design for the Spoonflower competition.

Chinese Paper Cutting design 3

This is the first one I came up with which was based on a sketch I had drawn and then I drew it by mouse in Illustrator. I really like this design but to be a truly authentic paper cut, I needed to get rid of the floating areas, the ones that have no connectors and would not work if it was a real paper cut.

chinese paper cutting flowers Society6 t'shirt

It took me a little while to get this looking right and make sure all the red lines connected but the end result I am happy with and I feel it flows better than the first one.

280214 Chinese Paper Cutting design 3

I have added this new design to my Society6 shop, I am loving the new product on offer at Society6, the wall clock.

Floral Love Wall Clock

I hope to get some fabric samples printed up in the next few weeks and look forward to seeing how it prints.

For now, I am still trying to finish that piñata, my daughters birthday is Sunday and I am also trying to make purses out of old cassette tapes for them to decorate and take home as a party favour.  The creativity juices are once again flowing nicely…..now I just need a few more hours in the day!

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Fabric Design & Illustration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

