Pinterest Projects – My DIY Attempts!

I love Pinterest and could spend hours and hours pondering over the beautiful projects that have been pinned, it is a big time waster but a good one at that!  In the past year or so, I have done several DIY projects which I had found on Pinterest and duly pinned in my Crafts/DIY folder.  Most of these projects have been relatively successful, this newspaper basket being my most pinned DIY project.

PaperWeaving15

Therefore when my daughter decided she wanted an 80’s theme for her 8th Birthday, I went straight to Pinterest for some inspiration.

Fullscreen capture 05022014 145202

I gathered up some inspirations on Pinterest on my party ideas board with 80’s theme/colours and started to form some ideas, and of course I had to get that giant blow up mobile!

splat painting (1 of 1)-001

We needed a big sign for the party and of course we needed neon colours which the kids had great fun splattering on this sheet of card.  My husband finished off with spray painting the text on it.

photo (198)

I decided to make my own piñata as they didn’t seem too hard to do and plus I could then fill it up with what I wanted to and it seemed like an inexpensive option too. ice cream pinata

This is the end result of the tutorial I was basing my one on, I was aiming for it to be like an ice cream however,

pinata

I ran out of time so I just did the scoop part of the ice cream!

cake box

The next Pinterest DIY attempt was cake boxes, I really love this cake box and the tutorial is great as it comes with the free printable template.

cake boxes

I was quite happy with how my cake boxes turned out although I didn’t bother to make them too fancy, just not enough hours in the day and I am not sure it would really matter for 8 year olds!

cassette tape purse

I found a very cool tutorial where they used old cassette tapes and transformed it into a cute coin purse.  The tutorial seemed very straight forward and relatively easy.  However, for me, it did not turn out to be an easy tutorial at all!  I had several prototypes and realised that the total gluing method was not very neat and I was still picking glue from my fingers days later and yes, I did do a lot of hand washing!!

cassette tape spray painting

First I spray painted them all black so that you couldn’t see any glue and also so that it was a blank canvas for the children to be able to bling their purses up at the party.

cassette tape purse2

Here is the end result, this is one of my better ones! I ended up have to sew the zips on each individual rectangle of fabric and then gluing it into the cassette and then embroidering the two pieces together! What was meant to be a quick simple, glue the zip and fabric in to make the coin purse turned into a more complex project which I didn’t really enjoy!! However, the kids enjoyed sticking gems on them even though they really had no idea what a cassette tape was!!

Karon+Z+_+pac+man

I pinned this cake from Pinterest, it was just an image, so no tutorial.  Our version was certainly not as neat as this but it you could tell it was meant to be a Pac Man cake.

pac man cake

The party was a great success, the kids had a lot of fun and I learnt something from this experience, you really don’t need to go to too much trouble as the kids just love eating sweets and dancing!!

Having said that, it was good to do some DIY projects and realise that not everything is as easy as it looks on paper!

I have my son’s birthday party in just over two weeks time and I have an entertainer coming to do science experiments with them. I will be keeping it much simpler and the only thing that we will do is a piñata cake which is not too complicated and usually a great hit with the kids, they love to smash things and if it’s chocolate, even better!!

About Melanie Paul

Welcome, I am Melanie, a freelance surface pattern designer and mum of two gorgeous children. This blog is a journey of discovery and appreciation into the world of arts, crafts, design and everything in between. I keep everything real and honest in everything I do. I hope you enjoy reading and please do comment or share, if you share, please link back accordingly.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Random & Interesting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pinterest Projects – My DIY Attempts!

  1. Made by Molu says:

    Oh woweee I LOVE the cassette tape coin purse DIY idea…..I must try it myself although I have a funny feeling it’s going to be messy too. Hope the party went well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

